We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Poinsett, Greenville to your Saves list
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is my third stay in the hotel. Right in the heart of downtown Greenville, with tons of things within walking distance. This is a classic old south hotel. Beautiful old lobby with a great staff that greats you with a smile. Older building with odd shaped rooms but clean and crisp like you would expect from a Westin. Workout room is above average. Room was neat and clean with the heavenly bed you would expect to be comfortable. Food is above average in the hotel but this trip I ventured outside the hotel for all my meals. I loved Nose Dive a pub attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We’re so glad to hear that you continue to choose to come back and visit with us. We thank you for your kind words about our staff and amenities, like our newly renovated Westin Workout facility. While we love our guests experiencing our Chef’s cooking, we are indeed within walking distance of over 50 restaurants, making it easy to explore and enjoy downtown Greenville. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    159
    63
    25
    11
See reviews for
134
243
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The outside of this hotel is beautiful and the welcome from the staff was very courteous, you go up one flight of stairs to the lobby and reception and it is a stunning space. We were upgraded to a suite and in all honesty for a suite it wasn't very impressive, please don't get me wrong it was a big room and nicely decorated it just didn't have the wow factor, that a lot of suites have. I think if I had paid the difference from an ordinary room to the suite I would have felt a little cheated. That aside the bed was ultra comfortable and the sleep undisturbed. The hotel is situated right on the side of the main street, but Greenville has a lovely main street and the view of it from the top floor was very pleasant.

Room Tip: When in Greenville check out the waterfalls, only 200 yards from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear David,
It has been 13 years that this hotel has been fully restored and re-opened to the public. Honestly, it was a close call and could have been demolished instead. Guests like you, appreciating the unique character of a hotel that was built in 1925, but enjoying the modern amenities that we are offering at the same time, are our most loyal customers. We sincerely thank you for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Full service, professional and adorable staff. Well run, well managed old hotel with lots of charm. Stayed here many times.

Janis the concierge helps tremendously with recomendations and reservations. The front desk great. Nice lobby bar.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Richard,
Your review is short and to the point. We sincerely appreciate all your positive adjectives describing our hotel. As well, we are especially grateful for your highlighting of our Concierge and Front Desk Team. After all, it is the staff that makes the difference. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

You can feel and live Greenville's past in this historic, classic hotel with gracious service. The location in the heart of downtown is ideal for exploring Main Street (recently cited in Travel & Leisure as one of America's best), the West End district complete restaurants, boutiques and art galleries, Falls Park on the Reedy with a curved cantilever bridge, Fluor Field - which is a replica of Fenway Park for the Single A affiliate of the Red Sox - Greenville Drive, and the Peace Center performing arts center. Rooms are stately though can vary greatly in size, feel and view. Public spaces are tasteful. Treated nicely by a terrific staff, and liked the small touches of freshly baked cookies in the afternoon, fresh water with citrus slices. Gym is the typical grouping of cardio machines and weights. Along with the Hampton Downtown on Riverplace (which might have the slight edge), these are my two favorite places to stay in Greenville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our city and the many attractions it has to offer. All these venues can be reached by foot or through a complimentary ride in our golf cart. Thank you for noticing our freshly baked cookies, offered every day as of 3pm at check in and the infused water, available around the clock. As the only 4 diamond and historic hotel in downtown Greenville, we offer a different experience from our neighbors. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel was much nicer than expected. Beds are marvelous. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Location was ideal. Would not hesitate to stay there again. The food was very good and you did not leave hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Carole,
We sincerely appreciate the compliments about our hotel, service, staff and food. It sounds like we might have an opportunity to seeing you again. We definitely look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Our out of town wedding guests absolutely loved staying at the Westin. We booked our rooms for the wedding weekend through Somers and she was very easy to deal with even though Artisphere was the same weekend. She went above and beyond helping our group by adding two rooms at a time as they would fill up. Our guests loved the location and being right in the middle of everything going on all weekend. A big thank you to the Westin and their fine staff for making the room situation the last of our worries on our wedding weekend.

Taylor & Gypsy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Taylor,
You clearly picked the perfect weekend, our downtown location can’t get any better with the excitement of the Artisphere. It is wonderful to hear that Somers took such nice care of you and helped make your wedding weekend so special. Please join us again (with or without guests); Greenville is always worth a visit. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We held a small one-day meeting at the Westin. It's a beautiful venue and the staff was great; from the pre-planning process to onsite help, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Westin Poinsett.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Kristin

Thank you for your kind words about our venue and friendly staff. We sincerely appreciate your endorsement and hope that we can plan more meetings for you soon. Until then, our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Greenville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#7 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.