We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Poinsett, Greenville to your Saves list
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“An outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything about this hotel is first-rate -- the rooms, the service, the ambience and the food. Chef Curtis Wolf is a true artist, and the hospitality is unsurpassed. We are always treated with the utmost kindness and sincerity. The Westin Poinsett is an asset to Greenville as well as to the entire hotel industry!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    171
    64
    28
    11
See reviews for
143
261
42
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a great mini vacation driving up to Greenville from Spartanburg for an overnighter. The Westin Pointsett was extremely nice...comfortable beds, clean rooms and bathrooms. The proximity of the hotel to the many restaurants, bars and shops in downtown is its best asset. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast FL
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Westin Poinsett is a very nice hotel. We stayed there for a family wedding and found its location very good for walking the Main Street corridor, the staff friendly and personable, the room appointments spacious and clean. But if you are a senior with strength issues, the VERY low toilets in the room batthrooms will leave you struggling to get down and especially up. Check with reservations to see is higher, friendlier commodes are available in special rooms. The food served at the reception was obviously chosen by the wedding couple, but it was not very appealing, nor tasty. The shrimp and grits was fine, but the sliders were more like a fast-food serving, cold and unappealing. A hot and cold pasta station was very bland, and not appealing as well. Desserts were run of the mill purchases from a frozen dessert vendor, in mini sizes. Drinks were fairly stingy, perhaps by request. Self parking at $6 a day or valet at $15 were offered, and it was a little confusing as to how to get into hotel from parking lot. All in all, physically the hotel offers the amenities, and probably is the cream of the crop in town. But the food would lead me to eat elsewhere next time we stayed, which is improbable. Just be aware of the situation.

Room Tip: Make sure to check about bathroom if that's an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

2 day business meeting. All hotel room, catering and conference room arrangements were handled very well. Cocktail hors d'ouevres, breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent. The hotel staff is personable, professional and eager to make your stay a success. Best hotel in town. Great location too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just completed one of our annual conferences at The Westin Poinsett. The Hotel staff was very accommodating and professional. They went the extra mile for us. The food was outstanding and our members were very pleased with the venue. Beautiful historic hotel in best downtown location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Westin Poinsett many times and always leave very satisfied. This past weekend was no different! We were in town for Fall for Greenville and loved the convenience of staying at the Westin. We are always happy with the service - from the front desk to housekeeping. Janice, the concierge, is amazing. She is so thoughtful and personal - she always makes our stay a bit more special. We stayed there in July for our anniversary and she had chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room; this past weekend she sent strawberries again with a "welcome back' note. We love the downtown location because Greenville has so much to offer. We highly recommend the Westin Poinsett!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have always enjoyed our stays at the Westin Poinsett and in Greenville. The staff at the Westin are very accomodating and do their best to make sure you stay is wonderful!! Janice is the Concierge and goes above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful trip. She treats you like family but makes you feel like royalty!!!! She made all of our reservations and recommended fabulous restaurants and activities. We can't wait to plan our next trip to Greenville and we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#7 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.