We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic hotel in a lovely city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Poinsett, Greenville to your Saves list
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic hotel in a lovely city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Traveling to Richmond, VA for a wedding we wanted a half-way overnight stop. Happily we discovered Greenville, SC and the historic Westin Poinsett Hotel. Located in lively downtown Greenville it was a highlight of our trip. Friendly, professional service & beautiful rooms in a very inviting city. A special thank you to Stephen Enright with the food & beverage staff ... we will definitely return for another stay & have already recommended the hotel & city to friends & colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    159
    63
    25
    11
See reviews for
134
243
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is just "ok." It is a dated hotel and not as nice as the Weston hotels I have stayed previously! The front desk staff isn't very friendly. The food from room service was terrible. I ordered twice and it was bad both times. The room price was very overpriced for the quality of the hotel. There was an alarm that kept going off at 3:00 am in the morning which didn't make for restful sleep. When I mentioned this at the front desk no apology was given to me. The only remark was that another guest had mentioned it also and said it was a car alarm.
If you want to stay downtown the Hyatt is much nicer for the money. The Hilton is not downtown, but is equally nice as the Hyatt and parking is free. Overall I would not recommend staying at the Westin if you are looking for a nice hotel. It isn't worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, S.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Westin Poinsett in Greenville has been the hotel for many of our business customers for several years. Their staff is freindly, efficient, and professional with a fine banquet staff and restaurant as well. The location of the hotel just adds to the experience as it is located within short walking distances of other fine restaurants and sight-seeing places to go to in the heart of downtown Greenville. The hotel has kept its historic charm yet has the modern ameneties one would expect from a Westin hotel. The Westin Poinsett is an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

Spent one night here for a business trip. The bed was comfy. Wish they had wireless throughout the hotel (it's only available in the lobby).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Regarding wireless internet; we actually offer free wireless (and wired) access in all of our guest rooms (and public space) and have been one of the first full service hotels to eliminate that charge at the beginning of this year.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Westin Poinsett is a great hotel with amazing staff. Being a traveling consultant, I stay at many hotels (including 5 in Greenville) - the Westin Poinsett is unbeatable in every aspect. The location is perfect, Main Street is *the* place to be, and the hotel is also yards from Falls Park and the river walk. The rooms are updated and comfortable, yet the hotel still has all of the charm as it did when it was the Poinsett, long ago. The hotel’s staff is truly what puts it leagues ahead of other competitors in SC. The service staff keeps the rooms in immaculate shape, the front desk is friendly and helpful for travelers, and issues are resolved with no hesitation. Also, as a repeat visitor on business travel, the travel manager is wonderful to work with. I receive personalized letters upon check-in, find thoughtful gifts in my room from time-to-time (like the Budweiser on ice and a dish of pretzels for Monday Night Football!), and receive *very* quick responses to any inquiries. Having stayed at many other hotels in the area, the Westin is my first choice – by far – for lodging in Greenville.

Room Tip: The X hundred (700, 600, etc) rooms face the front of the building - which leads to better views - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Westin Poinsett in Greenville for a wedding....great location on main street, friendly service, good restaurant

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I've been going to the Westin Poinsett 1 or 2 times a year for the last decade, and always look forward to returning. It is situated perfectly on one of the nicest Main streets in the South, surrounded by tons of great restaurants and bars. The ambience of the hotel is superb, combining a nice laid-back feel with the usual Westin focus on superb customer service. Key points :
* The rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and unique.
* The workout facility is par for Westins, meaning they are very good.
* The lobby bar is usually hopping, and it helps to make the lobby feel like someone's extra large living room

Overall, this is the only hotel I would stay at in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Greenville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#7 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.