We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis among budget hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Interstate Court, Greenville, SC 29615 (Formerly Microtel Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Destin, FL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oasis among budget hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our annual stopover in the area when we migrate down to the emerald coast for winter.

The hotel room was priced at $60 and was worth every penny. The room was clean with a firm mattress and a great down blanket, though the TV was old. The front desk did tell us that all Econolodges are moving to flat screens in the coming year. The front desk girls were friendly and great to chat with. The great bonus was the hot breakfast. Freshly scrambled eggs (hot sauce available), biscuits and gravy and sausage patties.

The hotel is the first one off the interstate 85 and behind a great sandwich shop, Atlanta Bread. We have found our transit spot and will return here every year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
13
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent a liitle over $55 with tax for a clean comfortable room, nothing fancy, clean linens and towels. liked that an Econolodge had a hot breakfast and an attentive hostess who kept up with a crowd of what seemed like hungry construction workers.

the previous evening we were checked in by a friendly clerk who seemed happy doing her job, very resourceful about the area and activities. Overall, a pleasant stopover.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a cheap place to stay for two nights. The pics looks decent from the hotel website and the price was right so we settled on this hotel. I know I can't expect much for about $62 per night but here are the pros and cons...

Pros: Comfortable bed, good selection of tv channels, great location to I-85, plenty of places to eat nearby, decent breakfast(eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, toast, cereal)
Cons: We found three roaches(at least they were all dead), one spider(alive), noisy air conditioner, damaged shower(it a split open in the floor)

I would hope the other rooms were in better condition. I would certainly look around for other hotels in the area since the prices were competitive. It would be nice to come back to Greenville again but I wouldn't want to stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor, near the stairway or ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is located right off of the highway (i85) but set back from the main road so it was convenient. There were a lot of places for me and my kids to have dinner close by. The rooms were a little out dated but there were renovations that made the room more comfortable. Beds and bathrooms were clean. They provided a hot breakfast which had enough choices to please all 3 of my little ones so that was a plus. Good family hotel we will stay here again when passing through SC we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Suites are really nice worth the extra few bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Sure, the rooms are outdated but fine for the price. But dirty? Not acceptable. I'm not a stickler for filth but our bathroom was gross. Brown spots on the sink you could scrape off, carpet nasty, a hole in the ceiling. The beds and linens were fine, location, fridge good. But this is a cheap building with poor upkeep and should be cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Checked in on the 19th after a hectic day of travel on the interstate. I was welcomed by a very friendly front desk clerk. She mapquested by meeting location in the morming and suggested a great restaurant - California Dreaming nearby.

The room was standard size and clean. Linens were clean and smelled fresh, The room had a small refrigerator and microwave combo. Breakfast was decent for an Econolodge - scrambled eggs, sausage, hot biscuits and gravy. I did not have to go to Hardee's across the street. A breakfast hostess was friendly and kept up very well with stocking food and brewing hot coffee.

I am glad I found this hotel at $59, a great value especially around the BMW area. I will return!

Room Tip: The hotel has a membership for guest at Powerhouse Gym that is located about half a mile away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hard to even think of where to begin on this one. Upon check in, lobby floor was dirty, I asked the front desk clerk if the rooms were clean here, she said yes (will refer back to this later). Got checked in and went into room. Went to turn on AC and unit did not work at all. So went back and got moved to another room. Second room air did work. Bathroom ceiling had mold stains and cobwebs in several different areas of room. Went to turn on tv,and remote didn't work. Went to front desk and clerk programmed remote. I also told her that the bathroom ceiling had mold on it. To which she replied, "ahhh,I don't go into the rooms." Remember, upon check in she told me the rooms were clean?? So back to the room. Upon entering, had to kill a bug on the floor. Didn't complain at this point. Later large cockroach came crawling down the wall. Killed it as well and decided to take both bugs to the front desk to show them the problem. The clerk freaked out as I sat them on the counter and asked me what she wanted her to do. I said to her that apparently you hate bugs and don't want them on your counter but you want me to sleep with them!? So onto third room. This room was finally acceptable. TV remote didn't work again so another trip to desk to correct this problem. All 3 rooms did not have the sink or bathtub stoppers in place. Never apologized to by clerk that checked me in or upon check out. Will NEVER stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn and Suites

Address: 20 Interstate Court, Greenville, SC 29615 (Formerly Microtel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Greenville
Microtel Greenville
Greenville Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.