We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express to the rescue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1036 Woodruff Road, I-85 Exit 51-A, Greenville, SC 29607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express to the rescue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this property. We had booked a budget hotel the night before that was smoky, loud, and completely unsuitable. In a panic, I used my Reward Points and booked this hotel right down the road. It was a breath of fresh air when I walked in the door. The front desk staff was friendly, and the hotel was clean and new looking. We had a spacious room on the first floor with a microwave and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and updated. We enjoyed a fresh, hot breakfast in the morning. This hotel has lots of shopping and restaurants right around it. I was so happy we moved hotels and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor on the end. There was a entrance to the hotel from the parking lot whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so grateful that you were able to find us and that we were able to exceed your expectations after your bad experience. Our team is dedicated to making sure that every guests experience is as pleasant and memorable as yours. We're glad we've made fan out of you and hope to see you the next time you come to Greenville! Our team will be excited to hear that we were able to turn what could have been a bad experience into such a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    41
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
25
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at your hotel this past weekend after the Clemson game and had a wonderful time. The hotel was very nicely decorated, up to date, clean, very comfortable bed, and the oversized room was perfect. The staff was always friendly and ready to answer any of your questions. You are centrally located to all the major interstates and restaurants. We will definetely stay with us you again during our next visit to the area. Keep Up the Great Work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay at our Greenville hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us on your Clemson Game weekend, but even happier that you were able to experience we are truly all about. We use our Trip Advisor feedback to praise our team, improve and get better at what we do. Your review will be shared with our team during our Monday morning team huddle. We think we are the best kept, affordable secret for Football fans traveling to see the Tigers play--only 30 minutes from downtown, with the added benefit of beautiful, vibrant downtown Greenville after the game! Please do come and stay with us again! Go Tigers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My friends and I had the pleasure of staying at your property for our 3rd Annual - Clemson Couples Football Weekend on Sept 8th and we had a blast! I want to give special thanks to Amanda and Randy for handling a reservation issue we had promptly and professionally! They both made sure our weekend didn't skip a beat by taking care of us. The hote was clean, everyone was friendly, and breakfast was great! Being an AGM myself, I know what it takes to deliver a great guest experience and I will say......you delivered! We will definitely return. Go Tigers!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so glad that you were able to stay with us on your Football weekend. I am especially glad to see that Amanda and Randy were able to address your situation professionally and quickly. I agree, too, they're great! I am also glad to see you were able to enjoy our breakfast bar. We work hard to make our breakfast bar a positive memorable experience. Our team really puts a lot of effort into making sure all of our guests have an excellent experience and our housekeepers do an excellent job at ensuring that our rooms are crisp, clean and pristine. We hope you'll come back to see us the next time your in town for a Football weekend. We are an excellent and more affordable option for those game weekends. We're only 30 minutes from Clemson and 15 from Furman with the extra option of being able to enjoy fabulous Downtown Greenville at night after the game! Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed labor day weekend with toddler and husband. Had a great time. Check-in was great. Got the king executive suite and it was really spacious and nice. Had mini fridge and microwave. Pullout sofa and small table. It has everything with-in minutes of the property for eating and shopping. you can even walk to a few places if you choose. Twin Peaks is in front of the hotel. Very close to downtown and easy to get to. Breakfast was great with pancakes, sausage, bacon, and the list kept going. Very impressed with that. The place was really clean and everyone was nice. Hope to come back to greenville soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Greetings from Greenville, SC! We appreciate your praise regarding our breakfast bar and the offerings we provide. Our goal is to create a breakfast experience so our guests feel they don't need to leave the hotel for a tasty, satisfying breakfast with plenty of options for everyone. We always provide additional staffing during busy periods so food stays fresh, full and as always....free! I am glad you were able to stay in one of our larger suites. It provides the extra room needed for families traveling with children. We will be sure to share your praise with our team. Please do come and stay with us again on your next trip to Greenville. We'll look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night on way through to NC. This hotel is in a great location. Right off the highway. Down the street from Trader Joe's and Costco, and within walking distance to Gattitown. So great to be able to walk over for pizza for dinner. Room was fine and clean, staff helpful.
Breakfast, however, is another story. I am rather picky about food, but will settle for a bowl of cheerios. They only had a few options of generic cereal, and I have to say one bite was all I could handle. My mother was traveling with me, she is not a picky eater. However, she only had a few bites of a muffin and biscuit and gravy before throwing them away. Thankfully we were near Trader Joe's and just went there and grabbed breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with our hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location and our team here. I am disappointed to hear that you did not have the experience that we strive for at our breakfast bar. We understand that breakfast is a very individualized thing and we all have our specific tastes in what we enjoy or don't enjoy for breakfast. We work very diligently to ensure that there is something for everyone at breakfast within the allowances of our brand standards. The Holiday Inn Express brand offers a free hot breakfast that is, for the most part, congruent from hotel to hotel with only very small variations based on local tastes. I am sorry we were unable to meet your expectations and taste preferences. The cereal options and brands are mandated by the Holiday Inn Express brand and we do exceed the brand standards on those offerings. I am sorry that your mother was unable to finish her muffin and her biscuit and gravy. I might suggest trying one of our new fresh made pancakes on your next visit. We do hope that you would consider returning to us on your next visit to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Very clean and friendly hotel. Two nice places to eat within a very short walk. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Only wished they had all rooms being non smoking. I did get a non smoking room but wonder when they will eliminate any smoking rooms as most hotels are doing

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are glad to know that you were able to experience our breakfast and that our team took care of you! We do have 18 smoking rooms out of 155 total rooms since we have two companies with whom we do regular, on-going business that have quite a few associates who smoke. We reduced the number of smoking rooms several years ago, but maintained a few to accommodate those guests as they have been loyal clients for many years. Many of our direct competitors still maintain a small number of smoking rooms so we wanted to remain competitive in a highly competitve market. We do give extra care and attention to those rooms to ensure that the lingering smoke residue does not overwhelm. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nice spacious room and big breakfast. Covers on bed were weird like most hotels these days. We asked for a fan and the desk said they had none. We did not try the pool or exercise.

Nothing fancy but a good stay for the money. Lots of food and coffee, etc on Woodruff road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are glad to see that you feel you received good value during your stay with us. Our beds do have triple sheeting and a duvet with all components laundered each day to dispel the "bedspread horror." Based on your request and comments, we will make sure that we have a fan(s) available for those guests who might request one. We enjoy getting this type of feedback as it allows us to know the various and sundry things our guests might ask for. When possible, we will purchase these items and hold them for just such requests. Thank you for the feedback and we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville, and we will have a fan for you should you need one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road

Address: 1036 Woodruff Road, I-85 Exit 51-A, Greenville, SC 29607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Greenville
#13 Family Hotel in Greenville
#16 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart, is a whole lot smarter at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Woodruff Road, Greenville, South Carolina. With 155 guest rooms and the option of booking one of our two room suites, we're so much more than what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express. With 42" Flat panel LCD televisions in all suites, indoor pool and over 3000 square feet of versatile function space we have exactly what you need to relax, conduct business or simply recharge while you're on the road. We now offer complimentary shuttle service to and from GSP International as well as local area businesses, restaurants and shopping venues. Come experience our award winning hospitality completely with free long distance calling, free fiber optic wireless Internet access and our full hot Express Start breakfast bar. Located just 6 miles from GSP International, BMW and within 2 miles of GE, Michelin, Fluor, ICAR, Hubble Lighting and the Hollingsworth Development site, we're the convenient choice when you re traveling to Greenville for business. For pleasure, you couldn t make a smarter choice! Located in the heart of Woodruff Road s new, booming shopping and dining district, we're just minutes from downtown Greenville, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena (formerly the Bi-lo Center), the Peace Center for the Performing Arts, Falls Park on the Reedy. Come see why the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, is a whole lot smarter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville i-85 And Woodruff Road Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.