We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Well-Managed, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1036 Woodruff Road, I-85 Exit 51-A, Greenville, SC 29607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 62 hotels in Greenville
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Convenient, Well-Managed, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I were in Greenville to explore the area. I had hoped to stay downtown, but the rates were high and there was little or no vacancy at Hampton Inn, Courtyard and Westin, all of which are highly rated by TA reviewers. (the Hyatt is under rennovation)

We found the Woodruff Rd property to be quiet, clean and centrally located 10 minutes from downtown. The breakfasts are free and great, and the staff is very pleasant. This is a nice spot for families or business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking to the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are very honored by your praise. Your comments have been shared with the team during our weekly team meeting. These go a long way in helping to maintain and improve what we do on a daily basis. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Greenville, SC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
21
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Overall a satisfactory hotel. The room was clean each time I stayed (four different times for 3 -4 days each time). The breakfast is very good. The suites are far superior to the basic room. When I checked in I never knew whether the room would have a fridge and microwave or not. It is way back off the main road so it is quiet. The Wednesday evening manager's function is not worth bothering with once you've sampled the fare at the Homewood Suites.

The Homewood Suites nearby is far superior for the price as is the IHG affiliated Staybridge. Were it no for the Priority Club points, I would have stayed at the Staybridge.

Room Tip: If there is any way to get a suite or ensure that the room has a microwave, make certain you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about your stays with us. We appreciate your compliments but are somewhat disappointed to see that we have not "wowed" you during your visits with us. We always strive for the "wow" from every guest stay and recognize that occasionally we may fall short of that goal. We strive to be as competitive as possible within our market while adhering to our brand standards. I am sure that many would agree with your assessment that the Staybridge and the Homewood have more elaborate evening meal-type offerings as part of their brand concepts. Our evening recpetion from 5-6:30 on Wednesdays is designed to be a pre-meal h'ordeuvres offering with complimentary light fare, beer, wine and soft drinks and is a way for us to show our appreciation to our guests. On various Wednesdays our reception is sponosored by local restaurants. We hope that you will come back to see us on your next visit to Greenville. We will try a little harder to achieve that "wow" response. Please do contact me personally when you travel back to Greenville. I would be very happy to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micanopy, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Wonderful. Check-in process smooth . Room was spacious, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was wonderful. Amazing value

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are honored by your kind words and praise! Hearing that we've succeeded in leaving this type of impression on our guests is a great encouragement for our team! We work hard to try and anticipate guest needs and create that "excellent" experience for all of our guests every day and every stay. Although occasionally we may fall short, we use both the praise and the constructive feedback to get better at what we do. We hope you'll stay with us again when you're back in Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Not the Holiday Inn's that I remember. Very close to many types of food. Large rooms and friendly staff. Good breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. We try to take what we do a step above what is expected and sincerely appreciate all feedback that we receive. Your comments have been shared with the team. I have to say that I agree with you. I am very proud of our team and agree that we have a great team and a wonderful breakfast! We'll look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilburn, ga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We really appreciated the breakfast, as usual, at this hotel! The choices were plenty and the hot foods were prepared well. The workers made sure the food was fresh and the dining area was kept clean. The only problem in the stay was that the pool had to be closed for a portion of one day for a repair, but they made it a priority and it was open again that evening! With kids on vacation, it was greatly appreciated. Good job, Management!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We are honored that you took the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable experience. That is always our goal. Thank you for your understanding about the pool. Sometimes things happen beyond our control and we're forced to make hard decisions, but do so with the utmost care in making sure that our guests are not inconvenienced or inconvenienced as little as possible. Certainly, a closed pool is an inconvenience and we wanted to make sure that we got it back up and running for our guests' enjoyment, but also to ensure that it was in perfect working condition for our guests' safety. We hope that you'll come back to stay with us the next time you're in Greenville. Thank you again for choosing to stay with and for taking the time to appraise your stay for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just stayed there during a week in a golf trip. Clean, great value, friendly staff, very good location. Lots of restaurants nearby. Going back next year for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words of praise. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the service that you received from our team. We will look forward to having you as our guest again on your next trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

the staff is polite and well informed. The rooms are spotless. Breakfast to great. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you sincerely for your appraisal of our hotel and our team. We strive to provide the same level of experience for all of our guests that you experienced during your stay with us. Reviews are shared with the team for motivation and training and we greatly appreciate the time you've taken to provide your comments. As a side note, the hotel just revamped our Internet offerings and upgraded to the latest technology in fiber optic Internet services. We hope you'll come back to visit us on your next trip to Greenville and give our new technology a "spin."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road

Address: 1036 Woodruff Road, I-85 Exit 51-A, Greenville, SC 29607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Greenville
#14 Family Hotel in Greenville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart, is a whole lot smarter at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Woodruff Road, Greenville, South Carolina. With 155 guest rooms and the option of booking one of our two room suites, we're so much more than what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express. With 42" Flat panel LCD televisions in all suites, indoor pool and over 3000 square feet of versatile function space we have exactly what you need to relax, conduct business or simply recharge while you're on the road. We now offer complimentary shuttle service to and from GSP International as well as local area businesses, restaurants and shopping venues. Come experience our award winning hospitality completely with free long distance calling, free fiber optic wireless Internet access and our full hot Express Start breakfast bar. Located just 6 miles from GSP International, BMW and within 2 miles of GE, Michelin, Fluor, ICAR, Hubble Lighting and the Hollingsworth Development site, we're the convenient choice when you re traveling to Greenville for business. For pleasure, you couldn t make a smarter choice! Located in the heart of Woodruff Road s new, booming shopping and dining district, we're just minutes from downtown Greenville, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena (formerly the Bi-lo Center), the Peace Center for the Performing Arts, Falls Park on the Reedy. Come see why the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, is a whole lot smarter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville i-85 And Woodruff Road Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.