We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 62 hotels in Greenville
Fayetteville, GA- outside of Atlanta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Close to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

At first, I was worried that this hotel was too much of a walk; seeing online that River Falls Park is 3miles away, and knowing this hotel was near a cemetery made me skeptical...
But it was
much closer than I realized to any place I wanted to go eat.
We walked to the park, too; and I doubt seriously that was 3 miles away!

I stayed with my sister, so we had a Queen Suite.
We cashed in our points, so I can't comment on value.

As for the room, our TV was sketchy, but it did the job (and we didn't complain, so nothing got "fixed").
The beds were very comfortable. It was quiet & roomy.
The fridge was helpful (there's a microwave, too!)

The downside was the lighting--- no easy way to turn on the lights past the hallway from a switch. everything was manual. Also, there was a light in the fridge area that we couldn't for life of us figure out how to turn off... so we unplugged it.
The bathroom only had one light; the shower was rather dark.

The breakfast was more plentiful than I expected (and pretty good, too.)
and upon check-in they gave us a little goodybag for being a Priority Club member.

Will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown. I am happy that you enjoyed our convenient location. Stayed tuned for property updates in the very near future. We appreciate your business and look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
35
36
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Great place for downtown area.
The rooms was very clean, the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010 via mobile

We were visiting from Huntington Beach, California and from the moment we arrived our experience was superb. The customer service was amazing. The staff was great-from the front desk to the house keepers, this is the first time in years that I was able to give any hotel a PERFECT ALL AROUND SCORE. America, this is it, this is what staying in a perfect hotel is all about.
Thanks Holiday Inn Express staff, hats off to you
Sincerely, Minister SimplyArlene

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Holiday inn Express Downtown Greenville. We do believe that guests at any hotel should receive 5 Star service. It is a pleasure to know that our team exceeded your expectations and made you feel very welcome. We hope you travels bring you back to Greenville, SC in the near future and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The location is very good. You can walk a couple of blocks to Main St which has loads of restaurants. We ate at Handi Indian and it was excellent. Even though the hotel was booked solid with a few groups it was totally quiet at night. We had a great night's sleep. The room is your standard room. Nice towels and I loved the smell of the shampoo, lotion etc.
Breakfast was busy but we found a couple of seats. We had biscuits, gravy and scrambled eggs. It was good. No fruit though.
Free parking on site. Free WIFI. Flat screen TV.
Greenville is a very clean and tidy city. The Reedy Falls Park is very nice. It is also within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with the hotel and Greenville overall. We hope to be of service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Visited over the July 4 holiday. Great location at the north end of Main Street. An easy walk to all of the Main Street attractions. Clean room, friendly staff, good service. Can't comment on the breakfast as we ate downtown. Must emphasize convenient, off street, FREE parking. I've stayed at one of the downtown hotels and it cost $6 a day to park in their deck.
Greenville is a wonderful city. Their Independence Day celebration is as good as I've seen.
I recommend the hotel, the city, and their July 4 celebration if you get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I stayed for three days recently at the Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown. I travel to Greenville often, stay only downtown, but this was my first experience at HIE. The food was great (the cinnamon rolls, of course, are to die for), room was very clean, bed was very comfortable. I requested a pillow replacement - which came exactly to my spec and within 5 minutes to my call to Beth at the front desk - what a great experience! Honestly, I was struck by the responsiveness and friendliness of the entire service staff during my stay. The only downside is that I checked out wondering "when comparing price to value, why have I never stayed here in the past?". I'll be back, and suggest that others check the venue out if you haven't already. One more time, "Thanks, Beth!".

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

After such a great experience at the other HI Express in Woodruff Road in February, I guess I set my expectations too high.

Because of the chain it belongs to, the traveler can expect the standard amenities: pool, business center, exercise room, free hot breakfast, etc. In that sense, it's OK. However, it's the little details that disappoint: The breakfast eggs are either greasy or watery, or both. The bedsheets were clean, but the blankets on top were very dusty. The compact fridge never worked properly, even after we requested an adjustment. The front desk staff appeared friendly, but didn't seem to be too concerned about our comfort. one person that showed sincere customer care was the lady stocking the breakfast bar and cleaning the tables - I gave her a good tip.

I guess I would still recommend this hotel because it was not a bad experience, but I think the staff can do better if they focus on the guests more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.