We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for a Summer Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Summer Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother while on a very short summer vacation. This is the perfect location for a visit to downtown Greenville. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. Even though it is only a two block stroll down Main Street to the shops and restaurants the hotel is much less expensive then the other hotels downtown. We will stay here again when we are in town.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    72
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
46
49
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. Michael was the one who greeted us at the front desk and because we had a short delay in checking in, he extended our check out time. The location was excellent. He assisted us with a map and told us of good dining locations. He was spot on! When we came back several hours later and were exhausted from the extreme heat and walking, he offered each of us a cold bottle of water. Mary was excellent at the breakfast bar and she was very kind to make sure everyone had what they needed. She had a big smile on her face and that goes a long way when some people aren't so happy in the morning. Our two rooms were very nice and very clean. I would stay in this Holiday Inn again if I go back to Greenville. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel staff is not friendly and made me feel like I was a burden. When I requested towels the staff told me that they did not have any and would have to bring me some later, which they never did. I called the front desk and ask for something else and was put on hold for 5 mins and finally hung up. Overall the hotel was not clean and the first floor of the hotel is very noisy and does not feel safe.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to see that you did not have a good experience. We would like to have the opportunity to lean more about your stay,and find a way to make amends. Trip Advisor reviews are anonymous so we are not able to reach out to you directly. You can reach our GM at 864-678-8000. We value your business and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a nice clean hotel. But, if you like to sleep in the dark? this is not for you. The drapes in our room were made so they only covered the ends of the window There were shears covering the actual window. Not at all practical. Our room faced the parking lot so the lights in the parking lot lit up our room all night. Not a pleasant nights sleep. I am guessing all rooms were the same. Why would this one be different? Also only one luggage rack available. We waited 25 minutes along with other guests for our turn to use it. Why?? The hotel was full. We woke at 4:30 after a poor nights sleep and left at 5. The breakfast that they were setting up looked very nice. Not served until 6 A.M. so we missed out on that.

Room Tip: Check for darkness of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to learn that the room was not dark enough. Each of our rooms has black out drapes beneath the shears. If you have time to give us a call, we would like to know which room you were in so we can inspect it to better understand the problem and take corrective actions. You can reach our GM at 864-678-8000. We value your business and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When I made the reservation here I was a little concerned we were not going to be close enough to the downtown area. I was pleasantly surprised when we got there to find that we were only a couple of blocks away from the start of the downtown shopping. The room was very nice, and clean, and the staff there was very accommodating. The free breakfast was great, with a lot of variety. Parking was free here, unlike the hotels right in the middle of downtown. This hotel was a lot cheaper than staying right in the middle of downtown, and we enjoyed the 1/2 mile stroll through the city enjoying all the quaint little shops along the way. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel was well maintained and the staff friendly and efficient. The mattresses were uncomfortable to me, but my husband slept well without complaint. The breakfast was not great, with the hot dishes lukewarm at best (dried out scrambled eggs and cold sausages) and the coffee below average. Other hot items included biscuits and gravy and instant grits packets. There were other food choices, including individual oatmeal cups and cold cereal as well as yogurt and an assortment of bread and pastry items. We came to breakfast at 7:15 a.m., a little over an hour after the food was first served.

Room Tip: The hotel was at one end of the Main Street section of downtown Greenville, and an easy walk to loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the mattress was not comfortable for you. Thank you for letting us know that some of the breakfast items were not hot enough. Even though you had breakfast an hour after it started, the items should have still been warm. I am happy to know that you did enjoy all other aspects of your stay. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.If there is anything that I can do for you please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I had a terrific stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Greenville. Upon arrival we were greeted warming by the desk manager James. He told us about the events taking place just up the street the next couple of evenings. His friendly and open manner made us feel immediately welcome. Thanks James! The accommodations we outstanding and the location hard to beat so close Greenville's classy downtown area. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We were all so excited to read your review. Thank you so much for your generous praise. It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Greenville
#23 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.