We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Greenville
Hixson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location to explore downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a super spot to explore downtown Greenville. Very easy to walk (and with older knees, I don't walk as much as I should) to all the fabulous shops and restaurants. We were delighted to see so many things to do and there are so many places to eat it was hard to choose!

The hotel was very clean and had a recent remodel so everything seemed sparkly new. It seemed like a smaller property, the breakfast offering was smaller than I've seen at other HIEs but was adequate for the weekend. The breakfast room fills up quickly if there is a crowd.

We booked in with a wedding party block of rooms. There was some confusion over the fact I had reserved 4 rooms but fortunately they weren't full so were able to accomodate my initial request. Not sure how it would have turned out otherwise but it was a computer issue which really should be addressed.

The staff were extreemly friendly and helpful. We were in and out all day while we were there so didn't get the housekeeping service. We were able to get clean towels and were not bothered when we needed to be in the room. The pool looked clean but weather was cool for swimming and we didn't really have time. We felt safe there, even late at night.

Room Tip: Double check your reservation - especially if you have asked for anything special or have made reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to see that you had a good expereince and enjoyed our location in downtwon Greenville. We hope to see you again soon. If we can do anything to make your next stay better, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    68
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
46
46
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a nice, inexpensive hotel in a great location. Standard fare at a Holiday Inn Express. with good size rooms. and very clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We spent a weekend there(3 days) for a family wedding. Best part is the hotel is located within walking distance of a terrific downtown area that consists of a treelined Main St. full of shops, restaurants, cafes, and bars. We were really impressed with downtown Greenville.....obviously a major effort has been made to make this a nice area. Many people walking around even later in the evening, and there is a noticeable police presence so it's very safe. Further down Main st. (about 3/4 of a mile) is a great park where the Reedy river passes through town, and there's waterfalls and a pedestrian suspension bridge over the falls. Hotel has a nice pool out back, and as usual, free breakfast is included with the standard fare of Eggs, sausage, coffee, juices, and my favorite "heart attack on a plate"- biscuits and gravy. Overall would highly recommend this locale as a great place to spend time in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Greenville S.C. and it was a very pleasant experience. This was the perfect location for staying in the downtown area. It was very safe, nice rooms and reasonable rates. The staff was super friendly. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for positing a review of your recent stay with us and sharing your enthusiasm for our hotel with the trip advisor community. I am so happy to see that you had a good experience and enjoyed the hotel and the staff. We hope that we can be of service again in the future. We appreciate your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

First of all, we chose this hotel because of the pool. It was green and dirty both days, so the kids could not swim.

The bathrooms were filthy. I was shocked. The hotel looks so nice from the outside.

We tried to go to the fitness center, but were once again disappointed. The fitness center consists of 2 broken treadmills and a bike. Oh--and a washer and dryer.

We decided to take our fitness outdoors and were so glad to see the beautiful city of Greenville. The hotel is only 1 block from the Childrens Museum and a short walk to fabulous downtown.

All in all--the location is not worth staying in the horrible accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to see that you did not have a good experience with us. Our fitness center will be renovated this fall along wth our meeting room and public space. Thank you for letting us know that the treadmills were not working. I would like to invite you back as our guest for one night when our renvoations are complete. If there is anything that I can do for you please let me know. We hope to have the opportunity to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This the perfect location for staying in the downtown area. Very safe with free parking, clean, inviting and comfortable rooms and reasonable rates. Free hot breakfast in the mornings and complimentary warm cookies in the lobby in the evenings. Staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corpororate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We really appreciate your enthusiasm for our hotel and location. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better, please let me know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is currently under construction. There were noises and fumes. Once the construction is done, I recommend it! Free internet, breakfast (nothing special), coffee pot, frig in the room and GREAT location that is walking distance to the happenings downtown. I gave it a poor for cleanliness because there was a piece of something on the carpet between the beds that never was cleaned up during our time there. The rest of the hotel wasn't bad considering it was under construction.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville, SC. I am happy to see that you had a good experience with us and enjoyed our location. We appreciate your feedback and your business. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This the perfect location for staying in the downtown area. Very safe (and free) parking, nice rooms and reasonable rates. But the best thing was the friendliness of the staff. Everybody made a point of saying hello, asking if I had everything I needed, how I liked Greenville, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville . I am so happy to see that you had a great experience with us. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better please let us know. We value your business and appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back very soon. In the meantime we wish you safe travels and much success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.