We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This the perfect location for staying in the downtown area. Very safe (and free) parking, nice rooms and reasonable rates. But the best thing was the friendliness of the staff. Everybody made a point of saying hello, asking if I had everything I needed, how I liked Greenville, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville . I am so happy to see that you had a great experience with us. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better please let us know. We value your business and appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back very soon. In the meantime we wish you safe travels and much success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    61
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
39
43
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel has always been very friendly. My last stay, however, was NOT. When I arrived at the hotel it was very crowded in the parking lot. No places at all to park. As i checked in I was greeted by the "front desk manager" whom was not in uniform and was very rude. I asked for information about a certain restuarant and was shot down immediatly. I also asked for extra items for my room and was told to come get them. Afterwards, I came back to the desk hoping another employee would be there, but nope same lady. Im guessing they have many people there with split personalities. She had done a complete 360. She seemed over friendly and trying to compensate for they way she reacted earlier, but i wasn't buying it. Once you are rude to a guest you have basically lost their respect. I would hate to see how she treats employees if she treats the guests in this fashion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am so disappointed to see that our team was not helpful, friendly and accommodating. I do really appreciate you taking the time to let us know so that we can take corrective action immediately. If there is anything at all that I can do for you please let me know. We value your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Greenville S.C. and it was a very pleasant experience. The front desk staff was very helpful to me I did not have a reservation but she got me a room it was very clean and nice. The person at the front desk told me where everything was in the hotel and downtown thank you so much. Kent Barringger.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville. I am so happy to see that you had a good experience with us. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is one of the BEST hotels I have stayed at in Greenville. Me and the girls decided to have a night on the town and this hotel was the most reasonable price you will find in the downtown area. The receptionist at the desk was amazing. She took care of all of our needs and even brought things up to our room that we had forgotten at home. The breakfast was hot and so yummy. Never had a better breakfast at a hotel before. Big Plus + The hotel was under renovation and was still waiting on some wallpaper to come in for the hallways and the curtains and some artwork in the rooms, but it was still great. Very modern designed carpeting. This room even had an accent wall. New flat screens were good, most hotels have the thick old fashioned ones and this was a breath of fresh air. I will always come to this hotel when the girls decide to come downtown for a night out. Keep up the awesome work Holiday Inn

Room Tip: All of these rooms are amazing and wonderful for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville. We appreciate your kind words and enthusiasm for our hotel. I hope we see you again when you plan a fun night out in Downtown Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a great opportunity to stay here...great location...close enough to downtown, but also in the heart of new shopping, restaurants area on Woodruff Road. We loved the hotel. It was very very clean, the staff was great and we had an excellent experience. The amenities, pool and breakfast area, were just awesome. Great value for families, without sacrificing quality. We will always stay here when we travel to Greenville. You'd be nuts to pay downtown prices...this one can't be beat.

Room Tip: Sits back from road, so no worries about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This place makes you shake your head in wonderment. Checked in and although Desk clerk and lobby are lovely, location fabulous, the room was NOT what we booked. Air conditioning not working, not even any batteries in the thermostat! We put our own in, still didn't work. Late May in SC is NOT the time to be w/out a/c. The desk clerk moved us to a handicapped suite whereupon arrival, my daughter found a hypodermic needle nestled in the looseleaf binder on the desk!!! You read that right. I called the desk, the nice, young clerk came up with gloves on to remove it. I questioned her about cleanliness of sheets, surfaces etc. I was told that, "there'd been trouble in here last night." She left and within minutes called to say the mgr told her to 'shut down' the room. Yikes! We were moved again. The final room was fine. That night in the lobby a couple was complaining that their room, our original room, had no a/c. Seems they booked that room again KNOWING that it didn't work!! It was 85 degrees outside! Reprehensible. Upon arriving home, I called Expedia and was given a one night refund. I wrote Holiday Inn corp. and was sent an email asking for specific details and contact info. I replied. Four days later, I wrote again and was told they couldn't find details of my visit. I again sent info. I received a polite, noncomittal apology from Holiday Inn and that was it. Yesterday, a manager from the Greenville location telephoned me, but was gone for the day when I returned her call. It's been 24 hours and she hasn't returned mine. I am appalled that this would not be an outrage to the corporation or the local manager!! If there had been 'trouble' in the room the night before, I shudder to think what may have been on/in that needle!! What if my daughter had been 2 instead of l8? Shame on the Holiday Inn, both local and corporate for their benign reaction to such an occurrence.

Room Tip: View from our final room switch, the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales& Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not receive an immediate response from IHG or from our General Manager. I know that our GM has tried to call and you have not yet connected. I am very sorry that you found a hypodermic needle hidden in a guest directory. The response from our staff is a bit surprising and we have already addressed that with the front office team. We have also updated our housekeeping checklist to include inspecting the guest directory in light of this situation. This is not a situation we have encountered before. Our thermostats are operated by electricity and do not require batteries to be operational. So that is why you did not find batteries. From time to time, units do fail and need repair. I am very sorry that your AC was not working properly when you arrived. The unit has been serviced and is functioning properly now. We appreciate you letting us know. Our GM will continue to try to follow up with you directly to offer her apologies and look for a way to make amends. In the meantime, please know that we value your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farwest suburbs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

About the only saving grace is the location. As reviewed previously, the hotel is undergoing a less than attractive "renovation". The "done" rooms have a deep dusty blue accent wall - they painted over wall hangers, holes, etc. The carpet is a brown geometric design and the curtains are a strange gold vintage print. BUT, I could have just chalked that all up to a work in progress...we had major other issues. The first was a very unwelcomed room guest - a 2 inch palmetto/cockroach. They did bring in an exterminator on a Saturday and thoroughly cleaned all the room. They said it was because my brand new mattress had been stored in the trailers at the rear of the lot and it probably hitched a ride in. Although plausible- still disturbing . The other issue occurred when my daughter's room door handle fell off in her hand.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience. Renovations do present challenges for the hotel and do affect guest perceptions. I am disappointed that our team did not share with you the status of our renovations when you checked in. There is still more work to be done in each guest room. But when you are working with multiple vendors, time lines can easily get compromised. Our new drapes have not been installed due to multiple delays in the custom designed fabric. We are also still waiting on the new bed skirts and artwork. Palmetto bugs are unfortunately part of life in the South. We do everything we possibly can to control them, but from time to time one will manage to find a way in. I do apologize for this unpleasant guest. If there is anything that I can do for you please let me know. I would like to invite you back as my guest when our renovations are complete so you can see how nice our rooms are when the finishing touches are in place. We also have some exciting plans for our breakfast area and lobby, meeting room and fitness center. Please contact me at jrose@sycamoreinvestments.com to arrange for a future stay at my compliments. Thank you so much for your feedback and your business. We look forward to welcoming you back and making amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.