We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to say....A Big Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Koji

Sushi Koji
247 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601
864-631-1145
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Koji is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 726 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College St.
Description: Traditional Sushi in downtown Greenville with a fresh modern approach.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sorry to say....A Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were frequent patrons of Sushi Koji on Haywood Road. The downtown location is nothing like we remembered. Food is subpar. Cucumbers in assorted sunomono were wilty and the fish was past fresh. Fried octopus tasted of old oil. Baked mussels were more mayo sauce than anything.
Spicy squid/asparagus/green onion appetizer was a mix of bad flavors and textures. Our Green Emerald and Crazy Rolls were literally void of flavor. The service was exceptional and the Draft Beers were good. If you are looking for authentic sushi it pains me to say Sushi Koji does not deliver.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The atmosphere is very nice. The young lady that served us was very friendly, attentive and seemed to enjoy her work. We tried new things such as the grilled mushroom appetizer and also the grilled tuna cheeks. WOW! Both were excellent. The tuna had some crispy edges and the meat was plentiful, tender and sweet. The rolls had a wonderful texture and the various components revealed themselves in your mouth. An older Japanese lady was delighted to see our choice of the tuna cheeks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect for Sushi Newbies and Oldies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our family loves Sushi Koji! They have a very wide variety of sushi, from classics to creative, crunchy to sweet. Even sushi-fearful friends have loved dining with us. Our kids like the edamame and the chicken skewers best. Great location at the "top" of downtown Greenville. Excellent service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Before A Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great Sushi, great atmosphere and great service. I loved the Green Tea. They give you hot towels to wash your hands. The Sushi presentation was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I have been eating sushi for a few years now, and this place is one of the few that serves sushi so well that you feel like it is an experience rather than just a meal. Save the money that you would waste on second-rate sushi and go here.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Koji also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Koji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Koji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.