We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Upcountry History Museum

Upcountry History Museum
540 Buncombe Street, Greenville, SC 29601
(864) 467-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 87 things to do in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On an afternoon off I took my daughter to this local museum. The exhibitions are not particularly historic, as it is mostly graphical copies of documents and paintings. The few original items are well labeled and displayed. I would say that you shouldn't be looking to be "blown away" by this museum. It is a good educational museum for young teens. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fine musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is not a big city museum as you find in New York or Chicago, but the layout of the large displays is very professionally done. There are static displays and films and audio to help tell the story of the upcountry as this area of South Carolina is called. The museum is on two floors and an elevator is available. The entrance is minimal for a quality museum.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the civil rights exhibit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The exhibits flow very well. They are informative and educational. Very clean facility. Records the history of our area well

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Well worth a couple hours of your time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We happened to be in Greenville on a very rainy Sunday and thought that a museum would be a good place to visit. While the Upcountry History Museum is not large, it was well worth the 2 hours we spent. The exhibits are well thought out and interpretive by design. There is currently a display of works from Jan Brett, a well known children's author/illustrator. A children's play area is worked into the exhibit to make it interactive so don't leave the kids @ home.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a well done museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Visited Saturday. March 2014. Cover $5.00. Worth it. Very well appointed little museum. I was impressed at how well done it was. Not a lot there compared to big, big museums. But well worth a couple of hours.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Upcountry History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upcountry History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.