We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Upcountry History Museum

Upcountry History Museum
540 Buncombe Street, Greenville, SC 29601
(864) 467-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Attractions in Greenville
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On an afternoon off I took my daughter to this local museum. The exhibitions are not particularly historic, as it is mostly graphical copies of documents and paintings. The few original items are well labeled and displayed. I would say that you shouldn't be looking to be "blown away" by this museum. It is a good educational museum for young teens. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fine musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is not a big city museum as you find in New York or Chicago, but the layout of the large displays is very professionally done. There are static displays and films and audio to help tell the story of the upcountry as this area of South Carolina is called. The museum is on two floors and an elevator is available. The entrance is minimal for a quality museum.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the civil rights exhibit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The exhibits flow very well. They are informative and educational. Very clean facility. Records the history of our area well

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well worth a couple hours of your time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We happened to be in Greenville on a very rainy Sunday and thought that a museum would be a good place to visit. While the Upcountry History Museum is not large, it was well worth the 2 hours we spent. The exhibits are well thought out and interpretive by design. There is currently a display of works from Jan Brett, a well known children's author/illustrator. A children's play area is worked into the exhibit to make it interactive so don't leave the kids @ home.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a well done museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Visited Saturday. March 2014. Cover $5.00. Worth it. Very well appointed little museum. I was impressed at how well done it was. Not a lot there compared to big, big museums. But well worth a couple of hours.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upcountry History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Upcountry History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upcountry History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.