We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Service with Little accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   831 Congaree Road, Greenville, SC 29607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #39 of 62 hotels in Greenville
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent Service with Little accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed there for two nights. We came in very early morning and was greeted by a polite desk clerk. I require a wheelchair accessible room, which they explained to me none of them are smoking rooms. Yet the only one they were allowed to give me was on the third floor, the smoking floor, but I couldn't smoke. The rooms were a little outdated, nice TV and bathroom. It was very clean but room service never came by to clean my room the next day. Also, the second night the fire alarm went off due to someone smoking in a non-smoking room at 1AM. The alarms were not turned off for about half an hour or so. I feel this hotel as little accommodations and very poor smoking/non-smoking rules.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor and don't go if you need an accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    17
    6
    13
See reviews for
17
15
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Clean, confortable room, great location, several restaurants close by, excellent breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were in Greenville for a concert and wanted to stay near the BiLo Center. The Comfort Inn was about 4 miles away and very conveniently located to other restaurants as well. It is an older hotel that has totally been remodeled. Very clean & comfortable rooms. Great value compared to other hotels in the area. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This place has so many apparently homeless people partying in in the rooms and the side entrance/ parking lot, I believe it may be being utilized as welfare housing.

We couldn't sleep because of the loud talking and gathering, we booked a non- smoking but was told none were available when we checked in by the much less than helpful young blonde lady at the desk, and it appears this hotel caters almost exclusively to the heavy drinking/smoking crowd.

Calls to the desk about the late night noises only appeared to annoy the same lady, we could tell it was business as usual and nothing was done about it.

Thread bare sheets, lukewarm hot water and run down furnishings in the rooms also contribute to a bad experience.

At one time, I recommended this hotel but it has gotten progressively worse this past year, so I no longer do.

Your best bet is to pass on this one and pick another, there are plenty close by.

Room Tip: Nothing near the side parking lot entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Ive been staying at this hotel for over 2 years and if you need internet good luck Several laptops and same results, either no connection or if you do get connected it will only be that way for a little while. Luckly i bring my own however i shouldnt have too.

Room Tip: bring you own internett no matter what room u get
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great place to stay. I didn't have any of the problems of the previous reviewer. The refrigerator in my room was nice and cold, and everything was very clean. Fridge and microwave worked great, wireless internet was easy to connect to and very fast. Nice adjustable shower head with a massage option. Nice breakfast area, and they didn't mind me taking a bowl and some utensils in the evening. Great location and value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiken sc
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This was my first time staying at a Comfort Inn and I was pleased. We stayed for 2 nights. Just a few minor improvements could be made: 1) Refrigerator seemed to be cool-wasn't cold enough, 2) Carpet was filthy-wore socks when walking on the floor, 3)Desk chair had stains on it-put a towel on the chair before sitting on it, 4)My trash was not taken out, 5)Housekeeper did not leave us any washcloths the next day. Called desk and I had to go downstairs and get the washcloths myself. Didn't feel that I should have to do that, it wasn't my error. But nevertheless, I got them 6)The pillows were really soft and small..had to use 3 to get comfortable, but the bed was comfortable, so it worked out. Customer service was ok. The location of this hotel was excellent. Convenient to mall and restaurants. Bed comfortable and bathroom clean. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 831 Congaree Road, Greenville, SC 29607
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel is located minutes from Bob Jones University, the BI-LO Center, the Carolina First Center, The Shops at Greenridge, Haywood Mall, and Historic Downtown Greenville. Guests of this Greenville, SC hotel are invited to enjoy many amenities, including: Free high-speed wireless internet, deluxe continental breakfast, a manager's reception on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings, as well as an exercise room and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Greenville
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Greenville
Greenville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.