We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess with the mostest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trappe door

The Trappe door
23 W Washington St, Greenville, SC 29601
864.451.7490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Belgian, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Hostess with the mostest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This past Tuesday my husband and I went to get the all you can eat mussels for the first time. The food was delicious but the service is what will bring us back. The hostess was so sweet and gave us the table of our choice! She was really friendly, and even brought us water to our table. No hostess has ever gone above and beyond like she did! Can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    63
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Reminded me of Belgium eateries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you love beer, this is the place as they have a great selection and the staff is knowledgeable. The interior reminded me of several eateries I visited while in Belgium. I thought the food was ok, but not anything special. One person in our group had the sausage entree and loved it. I wanted a lighter option so seleted the pate appetizer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Even this non-beer lover found something to drink!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We choose this beer pub over the other Greenville brewery based on it's online menu and reviews. An extensive beer menu, my husband tried three and enjoyed them all. I had a framboise which is fruity and more to my liking than a wheat or hop. We both had burgers which were huge and delicious, although I'm pretty sure they mixed up on how we wanted them done, mine more med than med well. Servicer was helpful and courteous. Would reccommend even if you weren't a beer lover (like me).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful! This place is a joke.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went back twice and never even got seated. The hostess with the bull nose ring promised us it would be 40 min wait, then we went back 40 minutes later and she told us it would be a 20 minute wait. Reluctantly, we waited...and she never called. For what it's worth it smelled like nasty old fish when we walked in. Will never give this place my money...not on a date or on my anniversary. Go anywhere else but here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ended up here for dinner based on Tripadvisor ratings. We were not disappointed. Cozy cellar environment. Nice selection of beers on tap. Menu tends to the heavy side but we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We did not have a reservation (Friday evening) and they were booked. The bar serves the full menu which saved us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trappe door also viewed

 

Been to The Trappe door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trappe door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.