We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Broad Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We love the downtown Courtyard. It is so convenient to be able to walk anywhere you need to go downtown. It is new, clean, well appointed and has very efficient staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Lnaveggiegal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. It really makes a difference when you are traveling to be able to get to your destination and leave your car parked during your trip. With so many shops, restaurants, and attractions within walking distance of our hotel, it is possible to explore Greenville by just taking a few steps in either direction. I hope we will be able to serve you again in the future!

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    73
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
64
87
5
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I'm a platinum member as was scheduled to stay here on 9/12. Unfortunately, my itinerary changed. I contacted the manager in hopes of a reprieve on their 24 hour cancellation policy. I was told they would not help me at all and I would be charged for full night's stay. I've stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions and had plans to return at least 7 more times this year. It's very disappointing that customer loyalty means so little to the management of this particular hotel. Business travelers beware of this establishment.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. We appreciate honest feedback from our guests as it helps us grow as an organization. Complete satisfaction is our goal, and I am sorry that in this instance we were unable to be lenient with our policies. It was my understanding that after speaking with our General Manager you were able to come to an amicable solution that was to the benefit of both parties. We sincerely hope you will choose the Courtyard Greenville Downtown during your next trip to Greenville so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or further concerns.

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

It is called a courtyard, but it is really nicer than many Marriott. Very friendly staff, easy parking, clean comfortable room (with a refrigerator), and a with nice seafood place directly attached to the hotel (not run by marriott). Wireless internet is included in the room price. The location is excellent. Use to stay at the Westin, but frankly, the Westin is an old property with spotty management. I had issues with two of my last two stays there. Highly recommend this courtyard!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel in August. Our purpose was to explore the downtown area of Greenville. We were able to check in early and were quite surprised and delighted with the hotel; as a matter of fact, we often felt we were in more of a luxury hotel than in a Courtyard. The lobby area is especially nice, with a nice bar area, a wonderful restaurant (Nantucket--which was doing a booming business!), and a relatively large computer area. In fact, when we didn't receive a morning newspaper and didn't receive our bill under the door, we had to remind ourselves that we were "only" in a Courtyard! We were in a king room on the 5th floor, and the view of Greenville at night was especially lovely. The hotel is, as others have pointed out, in the middle of the downtown area. To the left of the hotel is the pretty tree-lined area for shopping, cafes, bars, restaurants. To the right is the river area--really beautiful--with more restaurants, etc. Add to it all is the fact that the hotel is fairly new, so there are no worn areas in rooms, hallways, lobby, etc. The breakfast is Starbucks in the lobby--with breakfast sandwiches, some breakfast plates, and pastries. We stayed there on points; however, we felt that the $152 asking rate was a bit steep. It was the same, too, for a weekend night. Otherwise, we were impressed with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Beautiful, fairly new Courtyard Marriott.. Rooms are good size, tastefully decorated and have a small fridge. Comfortable computer area in the lobby. Parking is by valet or $8 self parking for 24 hrs. However, the best reason to stay here is the fabulous location, smack in the middle of downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I had a great experience at this hotel. I stayed only one night for business, but the staff was very friendly, the room was clean and spacious, there was free WiFi in the room, so well suited to business travelers. It's very conveniently located in the heart of downtown Greenville, so it's easy to take a nice walk around town. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others through Tripadvisor. I'm happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time at our hotel. Our Courtyard is designed with the business traveler in mind, and I am glad to hear that we provided everything that you needed. I hope we will see you again soon! Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can assist you with in the future. Have a great day!

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This new property is about as nice as it gets for a Courtyard. All new Bistro generation, with a excellent seafood place in bottom, Nantucket. The location is perfect, on the main drag between the shopping/cafes and the riverwalk area. Staff, room and setting was top notch.

Enjoy Greenville, a nice classic fun small town with a good art and cuisine scene.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. We are very proud of our Courtyard and our location in the heart of Downtown Greenville. It sounds like you know your Courtyard properties, and I'm happy to hear you noticed our Bistro! It is a great concept that all Courtyard's are moving to; I think it is the perfect option for any traveler, as you can grab something quick to go, or you can enjoy a more leisurely breakfast. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Greenville! Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown

Address: 50 West Broad Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#2 Family Hotel in Greenville
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#3 Green Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a buzz on the streets of Greenville, SC. An excitement for the new hotel in the heart of downtown. The experience you’ll discover within our walls reflects the one you’ll relish just outside of them. Contemporary décor along with modern architecture will blend seamlessly with Marriott Courtyard’s signature hospitality and dedication to excellence. An experience that is both specifically Courtyard and uniquely downtown Greenville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.