We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT time for kids...and grown ups!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Children's Museum of the Upstate

The Children's Museum of the Upstate
300 College Street, Greenville, SC 29601
+1 864-233-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 86 things to do in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 80,000 Square feet of fun! The Children's Museum of the Upstate is 7th largest children's museum in the country and only children's museum that is a Smithsonian Affiliate. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Greenville on the cultural campus of Heritage Green, it's close to all the action and offers ample parking. The museum features 20 exhibit galleries that include a traveling exhibit hall, two outdoor interactive exhibit spaces and an outdoor programming space. Visitors experience more than 100 individual exhibit components with a continuum of programming in the areas of arts, humanities, sciences, health, nutrition and the environment. Kids and adults can simulate flight into space, design their own Formula 1 race car or go exploring in the Climber that reaches up to the skylight. Whatever your age, The Children's Museum is a place of possibility where children and adults alike can explore, discover, imagine, pretend and Be Anything! The Children's museum is committed to serving the needs and interests of all children by providing experiences that spark a lifelong passion for curiosity and learning through play. Open Tuesday - Saturday 9am - 5pm, Sunday 11am - 5pm. Open Mondays from Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“GREAT time for kids...and grown ups!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took my kiddos to the Upstate Museum for the first time last month. I was hesitant because of the cost, but with three levels of interactive playing and learning, it was well-worth the price. My kids and I were there from open to close. We even had lunch in the cafe, which was great! The staff is amazing. Definitely a great place to spend the day with your kiddos!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    47
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a lot for kids to do but still enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went to this museum with my 5 yr old. She did enjoy it and wants to go back. I just think they need to add more hands on activities. A lot of things they do have are just there to look at. The stuff they can touch you have to move along because others are waiting to use the same things. Such as the kids grocery shopping area. You can get a cart and let them "shop" and cash out. But then when your done you have to put it all back so I suggest not putting a ton of stuff in the cart. If was crowded and we had to wait like 30 minutes just for her to do her own "cash out" they need more fake registers. That is a popular area in this museum. There is also an area for building/construction. Also a popular area. BUT again, not enough to share. There was only some building block padded chunks and someone else was using them, There was not enough for more than 1-2 people. Also there was only 1 bulldozer that ALL the kids wanted to play on. The museum needs to have more than one of the popular items. There is also a dinosaur area but it doesn't have much. The coolest thing here is probably the tall play area that goes from the bottom floor up. This is pretty tough though for young ones. My girl who is almost 6 was very intimidated and did not get on it. They just need to add more things that are interactive and to make the price worth it, in MY opinion. Also we did eat there as well, the food is pricey but pretty good. The potato salad is yummy and so are the cookies.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Surprisingly well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Museum is larger than it looks outside. Many activities for kids up to age 12 to interest them for hours. Price is a bit on the high side but well worth giving a try. Definitely an asset for Greenville!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We loved this children's museum! They have done a great job with it and we love going! There are many levels, and different areas to explore. I like that there are art, science and play areas. It's in a great location downtown.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

really like this place, just enough for kids to enjoy, clean and simple to navigate. everyone with young kids should go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Children's Museum of the Upstate also viewed

 

Been to The Children's Museum of the Upstate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Children's Museum of the Upstate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.