We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent grouper and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shane's (on Augusta)

Shane's (on Augusta)
301 Haywood Rd, Ste 2, Greenville, SC 29607
864-286-1550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 726 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
south carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent grouper and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

2 couples. Salmon, grouper, salad with chicken, salad with crab cabke and a bottle of pinot noir. Family owned local restaurant with nice ambience, good service, very reasonable prices, a nice selection of value wines and quality food. Very fresh tasting and well prepared fish with veggies and potatoes. Our first visit, but other couple many times. Will definitely be back next time in Greenville.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville,sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best grouper I've ever eaten!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful evening with my husband, daughter and her friend. Lovely, quiet relaxing restaurant. Very nice bar to enjoy TV for those not necessarily eating dinner. Everyone's meal was amazing and so much food....lunch the next day. Always great seeing Julie and Shane was busy in the kitchen!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a great restaurant. Have been with a friends several times and we are never dissapointed. Burgers, chicken salad, meatloaf and crab cakes are all wonderful. Eat half and ask them to pack it in a to go box, you definately want to save room for desert. Coconut cake and honey bun bread pudding are just a few of their yummy offerings. Service is like visting with an old friend.
Note: Shanes recetly moved to Haywood Rd. next to David's Bridal. Same great food , same friendly service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy, Yummy....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My sisters and I went in on a saturday night. Right away we knew we had entered into a very nice classy restaurant. The place only had a few people eating so we were seated right away. As we sat down we began speaking to each other about the ambiance in the restaurant... we noticed that the owner of the restaurant had changed their music type which at first was a light rock station, to a more of a Motown r&b station... Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway began to serenade us. We were tickled by this and told our waiter that we enjoyed the music. He told us they just changed the station! We all had a great laugh!TALK ABOUT GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! We started with appetizers including a crab soup and bread with a cheese butter...excellent! For the entrees my sister enjoyed the ribeye steak, I had to shrimp and grits and my other sister enjoyed the crab cakes... all were exceptionally prepared and served very hot. If you're searching for a nice, quiet, delicious dinner...Shane's Southern Bistro is the place for you. They have moved from Augusta Rd to Haywood Rd next to David's Bridal. A great find!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delish - as always!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Shane's has moved to a new loction on Haywood Rd. It is a larger restaurant with the same great food. We went for lunch with a party of 15; 7 were kids. Shane and his staff were very accomodating for the kids - offering hamburgers, chicken fingers, and grilled cheese.

Four of the party had the Signature Chicken sandwich - chopped chicken with red peppers and a basalmic vinegrette sauce. The hamburgers are served on baguette bread and are simply huge! The meatloaf sandwich is better than Mama makes! The sides of fries or pasta salad are both excellent. Shane likes to experiment and the soup of the day was Spaghetti and Meatball soup. It was yummy!

Our server, Sheila, was excellent. She took wonderful care of us and was very attentive. They took the kids orders first and got those going so they didn't get to restless waiting for their food. The wine list looks decent although we had mixed drinks, which were very good.

All in all a very wonderful experience and the new place is wonderful!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shane's (on Augusta) also viewed

 
Greenville, SC
 

Been to Shane's (on Augusta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shane's (on Augusta), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.