We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, remote arena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centre Stage

Centre Stage
501 River Street, Greenville, SC 29601
864-233-6733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 things to do in Greenville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Presenting current Broadway and off-Broadway comedies, dramas and musicals. Every August, a New Works Festival is held with submissions from around the Globe. Lobby art gallery open Tues-Fri 2-6pm & during performances.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small, remote arena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Saw the play "Shout" and thoroughly enjoyed the local talent as well as the theater. Small theater with only 285 seats all which afford an excellent view. Acoustics were awesome. Staff could not have been friendlier.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a great place to see either musical theater or dramas. It's very intimate with the seats nearly surrounding the stage. You won't regret an evening at Centre Stage.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Producers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great performance for the price. Local talent used in the performance and they are top notice. I have seen performances on Broadway and I would put our own little town up against them.
Producers was an all night laugh.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently saw the "Rock n Roll Gold" show at Centre Stage. The setting is very intimate, there is not a bad seat in the house. The sound is good and the production was good for a local theater troupe. I have already booked tickets to see "The Producers" in April.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good acting, but not acoustically designed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The acting was good and the atmosphere was good. I missed some of the finer points and some of the nuances due to the design not accommodating good acoustics

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre Stage also viewed

 

Been to Centre Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centre Stage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.