We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, remote arena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centre Stage

Centre Stage
501 River Street, Greenville, SC 29601
864-233-6733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Attractions in Greenville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Presenting current Broadway and off-Broadway comedies, dramas and musicals. Every August, a New Works Festival is held with submissions from around the Globe. Lobby art gallery open Tues-Fri 2-6pm & during performances.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small, remote arena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Saw the play "Shout" and thoroughly enjoyed the local talent as well as the theater. Small theater with only 285 seats all which afford an excellent view. Acoustics were awesome. Staff could not have been friendlier.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a great place to see either musical theater or dramas. It's very intimate with the seats nearly surrounding the stage. You won't regret an evening at Centre Stage.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Producers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great performance for the price. Local talent used in the performance and they are top notice. I have seen performances on Broadway and I would put our own little town up against them.
Producers was an all night laugh.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Local Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently saw the "Rock n Roll Gold" show at Centre Stage. The setting is very intimate, there is not a bad seat in the house. The sound is good and the production was good for a local theater troupe. I have already booked tickets to see "The Producers" in April.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good acting, but not acoustically designed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The acting was good and the atmosphere was good. I missed some of the finer points and some of the nuances due to the design not accommodating good acoustics

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre Stage also viewed

 

Been to Centre Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centre Stage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.