We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucky's Bar-B-Q

Bucky's Bar-B-Q
1700 Roper Mountain Rd, Greenville, SC 29615
864-329-0054
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 725 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It may not look it from the outside, but this place is FANTASTIC! We had very yummy pork bbq that was served in very LARGE portions. The cole slaw was very tasty and the sweet potato crunch was fantastic--I ate it for dessert!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for Bar B Q that's not from Texas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The food was good, the service was super quick. The green beans were cooked within an inch of their life, but well seasoned. Mac and cheese was outstanding. 1/2 Chicken was a tad dry, but other than that pretty good. Solid bar b q place, just not the best I ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap but tasty Bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have only been here once and I think I must have caught them on an off-day.

The food was very good but cold------granted it was just when they opened.

Prices are cheap, portions are good. Pretty basic Carolina bbq served up on a plastic plate.

I definitely will try again because it tasted just fine, however, I was expecting a little more.

Everyone else seems to love this place, hence it's #1 rating. Staff was very friendly though.

I would say, smokin pig in Pendleton gives some pretty heavy competition .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pig Picking on the 4th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This 4th of July, Bucky's BBQ on Roper Mountain Road had an all you can eat for $15, we are talking ribs, pulled pork, brisket, and shrimp bog along with all the fixings. This was more then most of us eat in one meal and well worth the 15-20 minute wait. We are hoping that they do this again next year. We did get to meet some really nice people while we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hometown BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After searching trip advisor, we decided to eat at Bucky's. It looks like a hole in the wall, and thus it's appeal. We were treated to fresh BBQ plates of pork, ribs and homemade coleslaw. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucky's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Bucky's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucky's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.