We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly infomative presentation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Museum

Rice Museum
633 Front St, Georgetown, SC 29442
843 546 7423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Attractions in Georgetown
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Ohio
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Greatly infomative presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The tour of the building and its displays was enhanced by the docent who escorted us. She was informative and cordial at the same time. The associated shop is something of a mystery that included a strange variety of merchadise, but there was no pressure to buy. A most pleasant visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our guide was very informative and told us more about growing rice in Georgetown County than we ever knew. Unlike reviewer Plant-Nut, we thought the dioramas are very impressive. The museum is a nice experience for only $7.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great museum shop but tired, dated museum experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Located in historically significant buildings on the Georgetown waterfront the Rice museum could use some updating. It's partially guided by a docent and includes a short film and self guided exhibits. I am aware that this is a small town museum but the tour includes the most tired looking dioramas I've ever laid eyes on. They are informative, along with the specialized implements and examples of rice. The docent was knowledgable but I found her comments disturbing as she said the slaves were so pleased with the plantation set-up (learning skills and being able to sell their services to neighboring plantations) that an unusually large number stayed on after emancipation. I've heard similar statements in other southern museums. A slave narrative printed in an exhibit on the top floor of the gift shop building described the grinding hardship of daily life and ended with a clear desire to head north if ever given the opportunity. A large skeleton of an archeologically and historically significant boat recently discovered in a nearby river is fascinating. I don't think this museum was good investment in time or money for me I and highly recommend the Brookgreen river excursion for a rich portrait of the history of rice cultivation, the land and all of the people involved.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Interesting history about the rice industry and some famous folks from the area. Mostly self guided.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This small museum is located on the second floor of the old city market and in the adjacent commercial block. Both buildings date to before the civil war. Rice was the crop that made the low country SC planters some of the wealtiest people in colonial America. The crop was labor intensive, and dependant upon slave labor. This little museum gives the visitor a good appreciation of the slave-based economy that made SC so radical about Northern criticism of slavery and the first to secede from the Union. Worth a visit from students of colonial society and economics up to the civil war and the collapse of the rice-based economy. There are also some fine exhibits about and old-style teacher and SC (and the Nation's) first Negro elected to Congress.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Museum also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.