We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Food in Georgetown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfresco Bistro

Alfresco Bistro
812 Front Street, Georgetown, SC 29440
(843) 344-3869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food in Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Alfresco Bistro has amazing food and excellent service in tiny Georgetown. It is worth a ride from Myrtle Beach if you are looking for a delicious dinner. I had Grouper and my husband had chicken. Our friends had salmon and veal. We all agreed this was the best dinner we have had in a long time. Space is small but they have an outdoor patio and it is all always full. Only problem is indoors is very loud. Make reservations before you go!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Food - 5 Service - 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here in the past and we ate here two days in a row here in May. I do not make a habit of posting negative reviews but the service was so slow and bad I just could not help myself. I don't know if it was just the waitress we had or what but fortunately we were not in any hurry. She would disappear until we had to get up and run someone down to refill our water and tea. I don't think any of them are trained very well because other waiters would just pass our table and not react to the fact that our drinks were out. They need to make their drink glasses larger if the service remains this slow.

No question that I will come back here for the food but I hope they see this and work on the service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Gem in Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have eaten in every restaurant in town and this was our first visit to our new favorite spot. Food, service and ambiance were great. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outside dining, Italiano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were visiting this area for a couple of days this week. Boy was it hot!!! Anyway we went downtown Georgetown at about 8.00 pm with Sam the dog, looking for dinner. We saw this very nice bistro, with tables outside , covered with sparkling white table cloths, always a good sign. We asked whether we could bring the dog along if we sat outside. 'sure I will bring him some water' was the reply.
Great! We ordered a nice bottle of Chardonnay and then had a tasty starter of salmon tacos, I had a gorgeous smoked salmon salad, then we both had the special of the day, flounder with creamy sauce, tagliatelli and asparagus. It was very good, fresh fish, well cooked. We shared the dessert of pound cake, maple syrup topped and baked, with ice cream.
It was a lovely warm evening, we sang along to the Frank Sinatra music and had a very good evening.
If you are in the interesting historic town of Georgetown, I recommend Al Fresco for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Tooooo Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was one of the best recommendations we could have gotton on our visit. Everything was cooked to perfection and the service was great, courteous and helpful. We sat outside and we had a perfect day. Couldn't ask for a better lunch or atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco Bistro also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Alfresco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfresco Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.