We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hubby said they have the BEST burgers ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz's Roost

Buzz's Roost
717 Front St, Georgetown, SC 29440
843-545-1595
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 60 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Mexia, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hubby said they have the BEST burgers ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Cute little waterfront restaurant that offers rooftop dining. Laid back, beautiful view and thankfully cool mist and fans for the outside diners! My husband ordered the hamburger and it was definalty a man sized burger! He said it is likely the BEST hamburger he has ever eaten. My granddaughter and I shared the low country boil platter. The portion size was a little skimpy 6 small shrimp and 2 small crab claw clusters, 2 ears of corn and 2 small potatoes for $17.00 ,but the shrimp and crab claws were delicious.
The grandkids enjoyed watching the boats come and go along the water while we waited for food and while we dined.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    8
    20
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branchville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice place to visit, food was good and so was the staff! Upstairs was a little rickety and some of the waitresses downstairs were complaining about having to walk upstairs to serve tables, thats the only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I never miss a chance to stop by Buzz's for a libation after stopping at the independent seafood market to pick up fresh shrimp. I always order the Miller " pony". We love sitting at the bar and talking to the locals and sailors moored out front. Everyone is very friendly. It has a great view from the top deck too! Good place for a quick lunch or appie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice view...bar experience...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stopped for a leisurely Sunday lunch. The service was good, but the food took a long time to be served. Apparently, there was a large crowd on the roof-top (we ate inside) and a shortage in staff. The steamed shrimp had no seasoning, so they were bland. The fried grouper sandwich was soggy and smelled burned although there were no apparent burned areas. Would not recommend the selections we made. The location and atmosphere was rustic, water-side, bar. Would not choose this restaurant again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came to town early to explore the town (not much there for teens) and to take the boat tour. So we decided to take in lunch. There were many choices in town to eat. Prices were somewhat reasonable and good amount to choose from. I was concerned at first since there were not alot of people there. Second, is the cigarette smell from the bar (which had ashtrays) as we walked in. They have outdoor seating and upper level as well. Our food was surprisingly good. My chicken sandwich had good flavor as well as the homemade chips. My son wanted me to tell you, that his ribs were awesome and the meat fell off the bone. It was worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Roost also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Buzz's Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz's Roost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.