We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, We Did It Again!*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SurfMaster By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garden City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SurfMaster By The Sea
1690 North Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yes, We Did It Again!*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The seven of us went back to Surfmaster this year for two reasons: We love the place and, also, we love the place! Stayed in unit #114, this time and were fully satisfied with all the furnishings, including the kitchen supplies. The a/c even seemed to do a better job this year!

Being able to park practically right outside your door is a real plus also. No waiting for an elevator to load or unload your car(s).

We even went ahead and reserved #114 for next August!

*This year our teen aged grand daughter took a friend with her,

Room Tip: Look closely at the virtual tours and if something doen't look right, call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodsfield, Ohio, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have been staying at Surfside Beach for 20+ years. There are better units out there for the same or less money. This unit was about 10 years past a much needed upgrade. Two out of three bathrooms had problems, all the kitchen supplies were cheap and worn out. Older TV's and equipment. They did come and work on the WIFI and it was better. Rusted bath fixtures. The building in general needs upgrade. Carpet, paint, etc. Check around, you can do alot better for the money. Don't get me wrong, Surfside beach is beautiful, just do your homework before you rent.

Room Tip: Area is very nice and quiet. Beach is well kept and not crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I love the view and the rooms are nice! It is a great place to stay!!! It's a little creepy during the night but that doesn't even come to mind when you think of the advantage of being beach front! You would really love to stay here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unit 304 was wonderful-spacious for 2 Bed. 2 Bath; nice kitchen (however needs to be "stocked" a little better), hot water was good, mattresses better than most rentals where we have stayed before, and the best balcony ever. Balcony in itself like any other, but the view was fabulous. It was definitely a "view with a condo." Sunsets and sunrises were awesome. Took some great photos. Besides the firecrackers every single night, it was basically pretty peaceful. Hopefully that noise would not happen all year round, and we realize that is to be expected on the 4th of July. We also realize we were visiting a state that legalizes fireworks-that's probably the biggest reason for all the firecrackers all week long. That was new to us.
Anyway, we appreciate having a place to have a memorable 4th of July holiday. Thanks to the owners and to Garden City Realty.

Room Tip: It was very nice not to have to bring linens. The beds were made and towel and hand cloths were ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I also stayed at Surfmaster, in condo 904 at the same time in June 2012 and I didn't noticed any new carpets in the halls, unless the person was talking about Surfmaster 1.
We went with another couple and loved our condo, it was updated, and well stocked and our linens were included in the condo price.
Had enough comfortable furniture to seat 8 people.

The only thing wrongs I found wrong was that the traffic areas of carpet could use cleaning, I would like to have had a mattress cover on the bed and glass furniture tops were not cleaned.

Owners should be proud of the condo they rent out!!

Room Tip: 904 is the best value for your money with great view of beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Have stayed in units 904 and 511 at Surfmaster Garden City Very updated - cleanest condos I have ever stayed in. View is beautiful. If you look at virtual tours of unit 511 and 904 you will be very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARDEN CITY BEACH, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is my favorite condo complex on the South Strand but unfortunately, the units are not being kept up to par for the rental prices. My husband and I come down every year for the Month of April and it is becoming very difficult to find a nice clean up to date unit to enjoy. Much of the furniture is getting old and not comfortable, including beds. The carpets are not being kept shampooed or replaced as needed and and a lot of routine maintenance seems to be being neglected. I don't mind paying a decent rate for a nice clean comfortable unit but when staying a month, they are also not stocked for any cooking. Please fix up these great units. I do enjoying staying down here once a year for the month of April. And let us know if you are an owner are are interested in renting every year for April. Our email is skmfwm@yahoo.com. We prefer a 2 or 3 bedroom at SurfMaster or Once Ocean Place on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Check rooms for comfort of beds, kitchen supplies, Good Lighting, Ceiling fans, Adequate Linen, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SurfMaster By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfMaster By The Sea

Address: 1690 North Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Garden City Beach
Also Known As:
Surfmaster By The Sea Hotel Garden City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SurfMaster By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SurfMaster By The Sea to your Saves list