We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grilled Cheese & Crab Cake Co

Grilled Cheese & Crab Cake Co
2520 Highway 17 Business Unit 9, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
+1 843-947-0855
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Under new Ownership, we are located in The Oasis Plaza at 2520 17 Business South in Garden City S.C. We offer a cozy atmosphere with friendly smiles and great food! Our staff is here to please and make everyone feel welcome, so we hope to see some new faces and to all our loyal repeat customers can not wait to prepare some new and exciting sandwiches for you!
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Hmmm a restaurant serving grilled cheese, how could that work?

It just does. Especially with the unique twists. Crab cakes, lobster, chicken fingers all added. Fantastic.

On our visit Debbie was our server and she was very attentive and polite.

The food was excellent. I had a grilled cheese with some awesome tomato soup while the wife had the crab melt. We both loved it.

Can't wait for another beach trip to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome! Best food/resturant on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I came into the resturant wanting something unique and that's just what we got. I had the crabmelt with old bay fries and she had the buffalo chicken grilled cheese. Everything about the place was great! I'd highly reccommend this to family and friends. We'll definitely come back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and it met every expectation. Their special, the crabmelt, is a Maryland style crab cake on a grilled cheese sandwich with tomato... yum! My son got a grilled cheese and bacon sandwich and he was amazed by the amount of bacon on it! Only one server, but she kept all of the customers happy. We really enjoyed it and will definitely be back when we're back in town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Something different that even the kids liked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner with our children who are not the most adventurous eaters in the whole world. They were pleasantly surprised when their grilled cheese with bacon arrived. Mom and dad both had the crab melt which seems to be a popular choice

All of us enjoyed our meals. The kids sandwiches had tons of well cooked bacon. The crab melt was wonderful and contained big chunks of crab. I'm fussy about fries, and these were perfect--crispy and not the slightest bit greasy. I ordered mine with Old Bay which I would do again, but I'd ask them to use a little bit less. Still, everything was really tasty and good.

Service was great. The place is small and there was only one server, but she did a really good job of keeping our drinks filled and brought out our food while it was still piping hot.

The restaurant is in a strip mall and would be easy to drive past. Thankfully we found it and were really glad that we did. Definitely something different from the other places in the area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Who would have thought? Awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Who would have thought a grilled cheese with a crab cake would be fit to eat? Wow it was awesome! Never had anything quite like it but will be back for more next time we are here. My wife had the grilled cheese with a fried lobster tail on it and it was just as good. I've been telling all my friends of this place. Debbie our waitress was great too, she really cared about making us happy and making sure we had a good experience. The place is very small and but again it gives you a little more of the personnel experience while enjoying this food. Definetly worth a drive down from myrtle beach to eat at this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grilled Cheese & Crab Cake Co also viewed

Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Grilled Cheese & Crab Cake Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grilled Cheese & Crab Cake Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.