We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garden City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher Inn
Save
You added Kingfisher Inn to your Saves list
100 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
Millerton, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the king fisher for the first time last summer. It was very clean. We could find a house keeper anytime we needed one. The desk staff was very nice and helpful,The only issue I had was being motel style there was no barrier from the noise from the street at night. Its not the Ritz but if you are just looking for a friendly and clean place this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This isn't gonna be the fanciest place you've ever stayed at, but it's clean, the beds are comfortable & the staff is friendly. Our room had a bedroom with a huge window overlooking the ocean, a living room with two chairs, a couch, television & oceanfront balcony (the balcony had a small table & two chairs), a full kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, full-size fridge, table, 4 chairs, plenty of counter space, silverware, dishes, pots & pans, etc), and roomy bathroom. The building is older, but I don't consider it to be too terribly outdated. The pool was spacious and clean - it's right on the beach. The Kingfisher Inn is literally right next door to the Garden City Pier also. My only issue with the Kingfisher Inn would be the parking lot - it's not quite large enough and sometimes it can be a challenge to find a spot. Otherwise, I think it's a great hotel & would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Garden City Beach without spending a fortune on a place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms that open up directly into the pool area, I personally wouldn't suggest choosing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

As stated in other reviews, it is old school. But Garden City is nice place to be. No flat screen TVs, no hot tub but did get a good nights sleep in a comfortable, clean bed. Room had nice balcony (you have to request or you get a "stand-up" balcony for $15 less) to watch sun come up with coffee or go down with wine. If you're not looking for first class, good place to stay.

Room Tip: Balconys are woth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

if your looking for an inexpensive place to stay on the water this is it. It's an old property that has seen better days. The front desk person needs to go back to school for customer service training, she has none.The house keeping service was aslo lacking. They didn't run a vacum becase the same debris on the carpet was there my whole stay. The pool was useable, ..it also need help there was alage on the walls.The rooms are have complete kitchens. If your not looking for resort hotel this is the place

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My review is a bit biased because my family has visited the Kingfisher for many years. The Kingfisher is an old hotel that was converted to condos quite a while ago. If you are expecting a traditional timeshare, you might be disappointed. If you are expecting a studio hotel room, you'll be pleasantly surprised. All units have full kitchen, so you don't need to eat out all the time. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and great for a small family. The location is the best in Garden City - right on the beach by the pier. The staff is friendly and helpful. No fitness center, but there is a nice, basic pool and of course the beach is only steps away. If you come with the right expectations, you'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have been going to the Myrtle Beach area for over 20 years and have stayed at many many places from North Myrtle Beach and points south.

Nothing beats the tranquility of Garden City Beach and nothing beats the value and location of the Kingfisher Inn. The studio rooms and spacious and have a full kitchen. The 2 BR units are huge.

Best of all, wake to up a beautiful sunrise! This is not a fancy place but the views are worth millions! If you are lucky, you will even see dolphins!

Sam's Corner across the street serves a nice breakfast and still charges only 5¢ for a cup of coffee. The kids love the footlong corn dogs. They are open 24 hours.

The Garden City Pier has live music in the summer. We love to take a walk along the pier and watch the fishermen.

You can also take a short walk along Atlantic Avenue and watch the sun set behind the inlet. Fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonas Ridge,NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Absolutely loved the Kingfisher Inn. First off you have LOCATION! It is right next to the pier and right across the street from the little *business* part of Garden City. The front staff is extremely friendly and our room was very clean. It is not a 5 star resort so dont expect that BUT it is clean, the rooms are nicely furnished and there is everything you need in the room. We had a 1 bedroom and loved having the view from the living room and the bedroom. The housekeeping staff was great and so friendly. Everytime you saw any of them in the halls or elevators, they had a smile for you and a frienly word. Their daily room service was also very complete!
Be sure you take your beach chairs/umbrella. This is far enough down that we did not see any rental vendors. The pool is outdoor only so winter stays would not include swimming.
There are lots of surfers in the water in front of the resort because of the way the waves form close to the pier.
Will definately go back!! We have stayed at the Waters Edge resort just a bit north and after staying at Kingfisher would NEVER go back to Waters Edge.
There is only 1 parking spot per room so if you have more than one, you will need to park at the pier or on the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Inn

Address: 100 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garden City Beach
Number of rooms: 43

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.