We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulfstream Cafe

Gulfstream Cafe
1536 South Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
843.651.8808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gulfstream Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Avenue
Transit: Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.
Description: Voted “best restaurant with a view” and “most romantic” by The Sun News; Gulfstream Cafe is the only restaurant on the Strand overlooking the ocean on one side and Murrells Inlet on the other. Watch the sun set from the upstairs bar or deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes, daily catch or Southern favorites- such as fried Lobster Tail. Offering something for everyone: live music, seasonal Oyster Roasts and Sunday brunch with a build your own Bloody Mary bar. Located at the south end of Garden City next to Marlin Quay Marina.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a great place. If you get there between 4:00 and 5:30 P. M. there is an early evening special that has great food and great prices.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    92
    44
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sunset Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Come early for the Sunset Menu...You won't be disappointed. Filet mignon medallions were excellent! Excellent service and prices!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went to the Gulfstream Cafe on our last night at the beach. What a shame, we could have eaten here a few times! Awesome, it was fantastic! Atmosphere was terrific as was service. The food was outstanding. There were 8 of us and everyone enjoyed their meal. Lobster tail/crab dressing, tilapia, fried seafood platter, steak, seafood platter in red sauce and 2 of us had the grouper. I was fortunate to have the grouper, absolutely wonderful! Can not wait to go back again next summer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We went on a 9 day vacation and on the night before we left a friend of mine recommended Gulfstream Café. We made a reservation on the Open Table App for 7pm (Tues) and when we got there we were seated almost immediately. The food was priced fairly for what you got and let me say the Lobster w/crab meat on top was phenomenal as well as the tilapia! It's not a fast food restaurant nor a TGIF. We didn't sit by the window, but there is a beautiful view of Murrell inlet. Oh and remember the 9 day vacation? My family of 4 including two boys 12 and 17....all agreed it was the best meal of the vacation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Repeat visits for early bird special and also Sunday brunch. Both are great values, service is impeccable, and the view is stunning. One of the best dining spots on the entire Grand Strand!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulfstream Cafe also viewed

Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gulfstream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulfstream Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.