We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice upscale dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulfstream Cafe

Gulfstream Cafe
1536 South Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
843.651.8808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gulfstream Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Avenue
Transit: Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.
Description: Voted “best restaurant with a view” and “most romantic” by The Sun News; Gulfstream Cafe is the only restaurant on the Strand overlooking the ocean on one side and Murrells Inlet on the other. Watch the sun set from the upstairs bar or deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes, daily catch or Southern favorites- such as fried Lobster Tail. Offering something for everyone: live music, seasonal Oyster Roasts and Sunday brunch with a build your own Bloody Mary bar. Located at the south end of Garden City next to Marlin Quay Marina.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice upscale dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved the Gulfstream Cafe. We ordered drinks, appetizers and dinner. The menu is not large but plenty of fresh seafood to choose from. We had the oysters rockerfeller, firecracker shrimp for appetizers. Both were very good. For dinner we had crabcake stuffed lobster tails which were excellent. There is seating inside and outside with lovely marsh/Murrells Inlet views all light up at night. The service was very good. We cant wait to visit Gulfstream on our next trip

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    92
    44
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

At 9:30 on a Saturday night, we got a table with a great view & good service, although he was motivated to get our order in before the kitchen closed at 10. Hate that rushed feeling but found the food excellent. Lobster tail with crab stuffing was terrific and my wife's grouper was even better. Pricey but all the good ones are. Will definitely return & I highly recommend. Much above average on this night.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of those have to eat there when we go to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Gulf Stream is one of those restaurants that wherever we are staying in the Myrtle Beach area, we have to go to at least once during our visit. We love the early bird specials. Get there early or there is a wait, no matter what time of the year. The portions are plenty and the atmosphere is nice. The view across the inlet is beautiful. The wait staff is very professional and helpful. There are cloth tablecoverings and cloth napkins. The fish is very fresh and the steaks are melt in your mouth good. The restaurant is very clean. I would highly recommend Gulf Stream. It is owned by the same company that owns lots of restaurants by other names like California Dreaming and Buro Loco to name a few. A well managed company that sets high standards for its establishments.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We always love to go to the Gulf Stream Cafe. The atmosphere is wonderful and the view of the inlet is beautiful at sunset.

There prices are a little bit high, but for the quality of food you receive, it is well worth the cost.
You can also go to the early bird specials, which we found were very good and when we left the restaurant we were quite satisfied. Don't leave the beach without trying the Gulfstream.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A destination place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've been here many times during family facations along this stretch of the Grand Strand. We make it a point of eating here at least once during our vacation week. Some of the features we enjoy are the outdoor seating with a beautiful view of sunset across the inlet (Murrell's Inlet), Good food, often very good, and quick and competent service. One downside I found is the raw oysters on "oyster night"; they were theoretically from a well known oyster source on the Gulf, but they were small and not very tasty. A limitation is parking (the place is popular!). Also be prepared for a doggie bag; they serve *big* portions. Our last experience was a carry-out to eat at our beach house. We easily had enough for lunch the next day. We were all very well satisfied with the quality. Bottom line: an average seafood place, but its location and ambiance make it a go-to place for us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulfstream Cafe also viewed

Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gulfstream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulfstream Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.