We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visitor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Resort to your Saves list
Waters Edge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1012 N. Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Repeat Visitor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been going to Water's Edge for years - our family tradition.
Yes, in answer to previous reviews posted - the building is old - but while we were there it should be noted that many updates are planned. While we were visiting, the old deck was completely torn up and being replaced. I don't know what else is planned, but there were notices posted that from September to December various projects would be on the go with new updates etc.... So that is a good sign, that this place is being updated.
As far as rooms - each is individually owned - this year we rented through VRBO - so you can see pictures of the unit you are renting, and you deal directly with the owner. So this might be a solution for some who have had issues with their units in the past.
I love coming to Garden City, it is quiet, the beach is lovely, and staying at Water's Edge - you are literally right there at the edge of the ocean. So much to do and see - you are close to the action of MB, but have the quiet feel that Garden City offers.
Now for a few negative observations that I have made - all of these are not managements problems, but some are - most just reflect the overall nature of people. South Carolina law must allow smoking on pool decks - and people take full advantage of that freedom. For me a non-smoker this was not appealing. They allow drinking on the pool deck. One day, sad to say, there was puke in the pool for the afternoon - making it VERY undesirable to swim in till it was cleaned up! Also, reflecting on the age of the building - all units have bedrooms that face the hallway, the windows are so old, and are paper thin - so you hear every person passing by - most are quiet respectful of this fact, but several times new neighbors were checking in, at very late hours and were less then considerate of people sleeping, shouting and doors slamming. Lastly, every morning at 5 the garbage bins get emptied - and they are loud, and there are several to be done - so if you want to sleep in, bring ear plugs. I wish management could do something about this timing of the garbage pickup.
So yes, there are good and bad things - overall we had a great time. I am interested to see the other updates that are planned for this building. But if the negatives continue, or get worse, we might have to seek other accommodation arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    21
    15
    25
See reviews for
58
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Waters Edge Resort has been standing at Garden City Beach for a long time. While it still has a great location, the building and amenities are showing their age. All of the units are furnished similarly but are not uniform in the age and style of beds, wallpaper, televisions, etc. Personally, this place was a good deal for the long weekend my family wanted to stay. If we had been planning for a week visit, I may have opted for more updated accommodations.

The lobby, convenience store, bar, and restaurant at ground level leave a lot to be desired, but the staff was friendly, the cost was reasonable, and at the end of the day it's a great place to put your toes in the sand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I did not have high expectations coming in, so I got what I think was fair value for an average, not very clean, not service orientated, but right on water and free parking, beach hotel. If you just want a place to sleep and really aren't hanging out there, it is worth the money to be right at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillview, Kentucky, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in room 1511 and it was FULL of black mold. We didn't notice it at first because we weren't really looking but when our baby girl got really sick and she would get better then sick again and then we started feeling really bad too we knew something was wrong. She broke out with a red rash all over her back, had issues breathing, throat was so sore that she couldn't eat and stayed tired all of the time we started questioning it. We asked the maintenance man and he said we were all susceptible to it because all the room had mold. We needed to keep the dehumidifier on and the fans going. We started looking and there was so much it was under all of the wallpaper, carpet, cabinets, around the windows and the doors. It was AWFUL! When we talked to the GM Allyn he said yep looks like mold! We aren't refunding your money. Then we asked what if it was his baby and he responded "my kids aren't staying here" If you care about you and your families health you wouldn't stay here.......have plenty of pics to show but it wouldn't let us upload them

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn M, General Manager at Waters Edge Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I am sorry to see you have chosen this forum to Broadcast your issues with Waters Edge Resort. We have had a Great Summer where we had more than 10,000 people stay with us. Most people had a great time and Enjoy Waters Edge and come back year after year.
Some people's expectations were not meant and we try to take care of these issues while they are here so we can ensure they have a Great vacation.
As I walked into your unit and you stated, "I do this kind of thing for a living" I should have known we would have issues.
I do not wish to drag this out just wanted to say your comments on what was said by myself and staff was not accurate and based on your inappropriate actions on property you were asked to leave. The photo you say is of the Carpeting was not mentioned by you when we spoke and does not appear to be ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the location is great, and the facilities are terrific for the price. Our room was very clean. Loved having two bathrooms and a full kitchen and washer and dryer!!
Is this the Ritz? No, it's not but it's perfect for taking the family to the beach, and has everything you need for a pleasant stay. The pools were nice, the beach very clean, the ocean water warm. Good AC and nice views from the balconies. Beware the stinging jellyfish in the surf, our only negative. Convenient parking too. The elevators were heavily used so the wait time could be a bit at times, but fast once you got in then.Great reasonably priced stay. We had no problems with the front desk, they were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love comming back to the Water's Edge. It is so close to the Ocean.
Everything was fine. Pools and Hot tub clean and in working order.
All employess very nice. Grounds kept clean.
No issues w/ any other guests.
The food at the Oceanside cafe was good.
Another relaxing vacation.
Avoid all the crap and rent directly through a realty company or the owner. Our condo was fine, all the basics we needed.
I'll keep comming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First, we got there a couple of hours early and the lady at the front desk told us it would be a few hours, which was fine, she said she would call us on the phone when our room was ready which was at 3:30 pm. We finally arrived back at the resort at 4:30pm after waiting on the elevators for 25 mins we got to our 2 bedroom suite,to find that the beds were not made and we didnt even have any sheets yet. I called the front desk and they just said oh well its not our fault, but your room is clean we are getting sheet up there right away. I was pretty upset because we paid good money for a place to stay and it was nasty with the carpets all stained up, the service was terrible and I would not recommend anyone stay here please dont waste your money!!!!!!

Room Tip: please beware of photo on bookit.com website they are not what they seem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn M, General Manager at Waters Edge Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Sir,
I am sorry to hear about the issues you had. I am surprised to hear about most of these items because when we spoke you didn't mention them. I thought you had come to a resolution on your room not being made up when you arrived. We did have someone go up and make the beds for you. You stated your only issue was being unable to take a nap? We are sorry we were unable to may your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Address: 1012 N. Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garden City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waters Edge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Garden City Beach
Hotel Waters Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.