We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Resort

Save Saved
You added Waters Edge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Waters Edge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1012 N. Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
penrose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just returned from our visit. The room was nice but as many others said, it was outdated. We found our room to be clean but the sofas were very worn out, and one wouldn't fold back up. Walking around in the room made our feet black which says how dirty the carpet was. It was equiped with a washer and dryer but no detergent so if you go, bring your OWN, because they will not provide it for you. We had asked for additional towels, which we were declined because as we were told, we had a washer and dryer in our room and needed to wash our own. Sooo if you go with this resort, take detergent or additional towels of your own. Also take dish washing detergent, I didn't think about that when we went but did end up needing it. The water pressure was pretty good considering each room had its own hot water heater. The view was amazing. As for all the noise complaints, we didn't have much noise but I was surprised by all the fireworks on the beach EACH night, so having my 1 year old trying to sleep that was kind of annoying at midnight with them still going off right off of our balony. But they were very nice. It wasn't the hotel that did them but random guess. The beach access was perfect, so was the pool and the area around the pool. I was annoyed by the pool guy, because he was the arm band nazi, you have to wear the armbands they provide to be at the pool, but wouldnt say anything to the annoying kids who kept hitting people with a rubber ball and had no parental supervision. The mini mart down below was well stocked with the necessities and snacks and such. The bar was low key and kinda high priced, $8 for a strawberry daiqurie which had stock liquiour. Everyone was very friendly for the most part. We had 7 people in our party, 2 adults, 14, 12, 8, 4 and 1 year olds. The kids had an absolute blast being able to go between the pool and beach with no walking distance inbetween. We loved it too because we were constantly going back and forth. The kids did say that the couch bed were hard but what sofa bed isnt?!?

Room Tip: Bring your own towels, dish detergent, and laundry detergent. Stay halfway up, say the 10th floor, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    18
    10
    22
See reviews for
48
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We traveled from New York. On our last night, which was a Friday, we decided we wanted to have a couple of drinks. We went down to the bar at 10pm and it was closing!!! Come on a bar on the beach, on a Friday night closing at 10pm!!!! I could understand if it were during the week or during the off season but this was June 15, 2012. There were alot of people there. Other than that our stay was very nice.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

and it was as good as the first. Great condo, beach within reach. Everyone was nice and helpful.
Like comming back home. To me it is the best @ Garden City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in April 2012. We were traveling with an elderly family member who uses a walker, so I was looking for a place to stay that was right on the beach, without much difficulty for him to get on the beach, plus I needed a place that wouldn't require our party to be split up in separate hotel rooms. I found Water's Edge through Internet research.

We were in unit 402, a 2-BR unit. It was very spacious and offered what we needed. We only wished we could stay there longer and really take advantage of the apartment-like setup.

The front desk staff was very helpful. We had a few maintenance issues in the two bathrooms and they were promptly taken care of.

As we stayed somewhat off-season, the small restaurant onsite was closed, but the front desk staff gave us excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants.

In general the property is slightly shabby but it was clean and met our needs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family and I spent 5 wonderful days here in the sun. I read all the reviews on this place I could find. I have to tell you all I was worried at what we might find. When we got here I was so pleasantly surprised. We stayed in condo #712 a little outdated but who cares....we had a great view and the condo was very clean. The beds "omg" were so comfy..pillow top. The staff was over the top nice. The lady that works in the store was super sweet and wonderful with all the small children. We can't wait to go back. Thank you Waters Edge Resort for a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gilead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We wanted to celebrate our 40th anniversary and wanted a special place. We rented 907 at the Water's Edge.We heard it depends on the owner and this owner really came thru on decor. What a great unit that made us not want to leave. We rented thru VRBO and I will return to this unit on our 41st anniversary.

Room Tip: Higher floors amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed a Waters's Edge May 2012, For the most part had a wonderful time room very clean and really enjoyed the view...My only complant in the very man at the front desk, i called down to the front desk to ask for coffee maker and he instructed me to call housekeeping and just hung up on me, so i called housekeeping and no one answered so i went to the front desk and asked again and he told me again i need to go to housekeeping in a rude manner...I went back up to my room and called housekeeping again and I believe his name was Fred came up with the coffee maker within minutes and was so polite and smiling and i let him know that i also needed a blow dryer and he was back up there with it in matter of minutes still smiling and polite all i can say is very good service and i had a very good vacation thats to the wateredge staff for a great Vacation.....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Garden City Beach
Waters Edge Hotel
Hotel Waters Edge
Address: 1012 N. Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Garden City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waters Edge Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.