We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Moon Over Gaffney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peachoid

The Peachoid
Interstate 85 near the exit for S.C. Highway 11 the Cherokee Foothills Scenic Highway, Gaffney, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Gaffney
Attraction details
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Moon Over Gaffney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's great if you are a 12 year old or just have a 12 year old's sense of humor. From the northbound side of I-85 it is definitely a giant peach with a 60 foot leaf. However, if you are heading southbound it looks like you are being mooned. It's always good for a giggle.

Kevin Spacey's show House of Cards did a whole episode on it (Season 1, Episode 3). See journeysbyjill.com for a more complete description.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
205 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
1,448 helpful votes 1,448 helpful votes
“FUNCTIONALITY MEETS FUNKY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Before driving from Charlotte, NC to Blacksburg, SC and Spartanburg, SC, I'd researched landmarks in the area. That's how I found out about this whimsical roadside attraction located in Milk Weed Park adjacent to the Fatz Cafe at 294 Peachoid Road in Gaffney, SC---at the crossroads of Functionality and Funky.

Driving on Interstate 85, you'll see it coming from quite a distance. Access for close-up views and photos of the Peachoid is through the Fatz Cafe parking lot.

The Peachoid is a 1,000,000-US gallon water tank shaped and painted like a peach complete with a green leaf and stem on top. It is 135 feet tall.

The City of Gaffney needed an elevated water storage tank. The Gaffney Board of Public Works also wanted to build the tank with federal funds. The board selected the peach shape because the local economy was dependent on peach orchards at that time. At one time, Cherokee County grew more peaches per year than the entire state of Georgia, known as The Peach State.

In 1981, the Chicago Bridge & Iron Company built The Peachoid. A stem and leaf were overlaid over the top of the tank. Steel paneling was used to create a large cleft. Then, macro-artist Peter Freudenberg painted the tank with peach coloring.

I spent about 20 minutes here walking around the park and taking several photos of the Peachoid.

A smaller 500,000-gallon Peachoid was built in Clanton, Alabama.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“This is a 'feel good' kind of thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Peachoid is a water tower that happens to stand on the north side of I-85 just south of Gaffney. It is well maintained and attractive, you can't miss it. It actually shouts 'South Carolina produces more peaches than Georgia'. :) Actually I think California produces more than either.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kids got a giggle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I read about the Peachoid before the fact & shared the knowledge with my family. When they saw the Peachoid in person, they just giggled. It does in fact look like a butt. We now call it the Giant Peach Butt. :) Nothing special here but worth a picture of a roadside America attraction.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ummmm . . . It's a giant water tower in the shape of a peach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been noticing this milestone since my first trip to SC back in 1995! I always knew my trip was almost over when I saw the big peach on the side of the road heading South on I-85. I'm not really sure why this is listed in Trip Advisor other than for a laugh. It really does look like someone's rear end! Sorry! I'm just calling it like I see it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peachoid also viewed

Been to The Peachoid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peachoid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.