We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fripp Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fripp Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fripp Island Resort
Save
You added Fripp Island Resort to your Saves list
201 Tarpon Blvd, Fripp Island, SC 29920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fripp Island
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went to Fripp for a niece's wedding. We went 9/11-15 so it wasn't the busy season. We loved it. Because there are no hotels on the island, only vacation rental homes and condos, it wasn't crowded at all. There isn't much for food so stop in Beaufort for groceries before heading onto the island. We really only played on the beach and attended wedding festivities. There was golf and tennis, but we didn't partake. The beach where we were disappeared completely when the tide came in, but you could just walk down the road a bit and find beach there. Golf carts are the main form of transportation, although we walked most places. Having the wedding there, right on the beach, was spectacular. They rented one of the bigger houses and had the wedding on the beach and the reception inside. It worked out great. We were truly impressed by the cakes that Publix in Beaufort made for them. They had 8 different flavors and put one on each table, but each one was a work of art. We would definitely love to go back, but Frontier doesn't fly anywhere near there so it's a bit difficult. That is who we have miles with. We ended up flying to Orlando, driving to Sanford to spend the night and then driving about 5.5 hours to Fripp.

Room Tip: No hotels on the island. Go to vrbo.com or to the Fripp Island website to find vacation rentals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been coming to Fripp for almost ten years and love our time there EVERY year! The island is getting more crowded each summer, and not all rentals are the same. However, we always regret when our time at Fripp comes to an end. The shelling boat is a great family experience. We have watched the dolphins swim at various points on the island. The beach is really only crowded by the beach club, with lots of room to spread out everywhere else on the beach. The service at the restaurants can be super slow, but the food is good. Just plan on extra time for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just stayed one week at this property. It is rated Gold and I asked for Gold or Platinum when I booked. the location is great, beach walk and pool just steps from the back door, but the property is in need of lots of maintenance. The deck was dirty, the furniture on the deck was plastic, the furniture inside is mismatched in the living room, and the décor is dated. The King bed upstairs in the "loft" type bedroom was excellent and there was a strong ocean breeze all night. Which thank goodness for that, as the AC does not work properly, seemed the freeze, and water leaked out of the ceiling AC vents. This is a less than desirable condo and If you are finicky about your lodging, pass on this. There are lots of kid activities on the Island, but none in the Beach Club area where this condo is.

Room Tip: Talk to the vacation planners and book a platinum facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After stumbling upon Fripp Island while researching possible locations for our family summer vacation, we booked a home near the marina through vrbo.com. The home in which we stayed was lovely and had the most amazing views of the tidal marsh (especially at sunset). It included amenity cards for 2 adults and a use of a golf cart--both things I would highly recommend having. We found the natural beauty of the area breathtaking but were quite underwhelmed by the resort itself. All the facilities we used were quite outdated or rundown. The Olympic pool is a misnomer--25 yd at best, nowhere near Olympic quality or size. The Cabana Club frog slide, which we had seen billed as large and exciting, would only seem large and exciting to a toddler--our 7 yr old's legs nearly reached the bottom when she sat at the top. The bathrooms at the pools were not the calibre I would expect. Make sure you bring pool towels for there aren't any at any of the pools either. We found we liked the Ocean Point pool best but it wasn't very close to our rental. The food court was rundown. Our sunset cruise got cancelled twice due to boat problems. The activities guide was quite misleading and contained no indication of what activities contained an additional charge. I called to sign up for an evening turtle talk & walk and was told it would be $8 a person to walk down the beach--we passed as we could do that for free with the Turtle Team any morning.

The beach was gorgeous and never crowded. Our second morning there we headed out to spend the day there only to have our youngest receive a serious jellyfish sting. Not knowing what to do we were told to visit the club office where a kind lady put GermX on it which greatly help and then sent us to the fire station. While we were there a girl came in by ambulance with a stingray sting. We quickly learned that stingrays and jellyfish populate the waters along the island and can be quite problematic in August and September--needless to say we didn't go back in the ocean again.

The highlight for us was the serenity of the natural setting and our morning walk on the beach with the Turtle Team. The kids loved riding around the island on the golf cart, too. Would we return? Possibly for the area is beautiful as was the home we rented but for an ocean vacation we would book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Fripp since the late 1970s with fantastic memories. Unfortunately, it appears Fripp's standards have changed and not for the good. The food was terrible and over priced. The house was unclean, filled with roaches, a black widow and brown recluse spider. My daughter has flea bites all over her body from walking outside on the porch and from playing on the beach. The people are unfriendly and rude. No more do you see the happy smiling faces as you drive your golf cart by each other. It took 3 calls to management to get them to take care of a hornets nest. When I expressed my concerns....management acted like they could careless.....will never go back!!!!! $4500.00 wasted

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fripp Island hotels

Newton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was 9 years old the first time I came to Fripp and it was wonderful. We just left from our family vacation and I'm sad to say we will never go back. The rental house was unclean, the people were rude, the service was poor and over priced. I have wonderful memories of this Island and hoped my daughter would have the same. We will make memories some where else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family has been going to Fripp every summer for 16 years. I thought that the kids would get tired of it when they hit the teen years, but it never happened. This summer there where 5 of us. We always stay in a beach front house and walk miles on the beach. It is so quiet. Up at 8:00, walk 3 miles with my youngest daughter, come back and sit on the porch watching the ocean and eating watermelon until time to go in and cook a big breakfast. Ride in the golf cart, look for gaters, fish, surf near the club, catch and release crabs, take a nap, cook a big dinner, another walk, rent a kayak, watch TV, work a puzzle, play some games, and get up and do it again. I love it! Usually we go in late May and that is better than July. this was the latest in the year that we have gone and it was a lot more crowded. Buy your groceries in Beaufort as there are limited supplies on the island. The Beach House makes great She Crab soup. Wonder over to Bubba's to look around and the Shrimp Shack for lunch. The only thing that would make Fripp better is grandkids! I can't wait to take them!

Room Tip: If you can afford it book on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fripp Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fripp Island Resort

Address: 201 Tarpon Blvd, Fripp Island, SC 29920
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fripp Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fripp Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 290
Also Known As:
Fripp Island Hotel Fripp Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fripp Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.