We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn At Carowinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn At Carowinds to your Saves list
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3725 Avenue Of The Carolinas, Fort Mill, SC 29715   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Yulee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We'll be back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room for the modest price. We had 2 queen beds and the room was very nice, clean & quiet. We had our dog and they knew this in advance and placed us near an exit door for walking convenience. Staff was very pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was what you would expect from a free buffet; scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, milk, juices, coffee, tea, muffins, pastry, fruit, etc. Also enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby. Highly recommend and will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and quiet. I called on short notice having been traveling all day and night from Florida and they were able to accommodate. I really care about two things in a hotel. Clean and quiet. The rest is just a plus. The first two most important criteria being met I was very pleased that Mia at the front desk was pleasant as well as helpful. The buffet style breakfast being served included eggs, sausage and a waffle station. Everything was hot and plentiful.

Some of the previous comments are confusing. Smokey? No...they might have renovated since that review. No pitchers of water or juice? There are dispensers for apple and orange juice as well as water so again maybe a renovation happened. The fireplace in the lobby was a nice touch. It was lit and the floors throughout the lobby and dining area were clean and polished.

$80 is a damn good price for the value and quality received.

Room Tip: Go high and wide. I ask for rooms far away from elevators, vending and ice machines. If you get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled with a group and had no input on the hotel we stayed. This hotel is across the street from an adventure park with rides and within a short distance from Narroway Theater and 10 miles from the Billy Graham Library in NC.

The room was on the small size, clean, and quiet from outside noise. The TV was the size of a postage stamp! There was no clock radio as most hotel rooms have. There were 4 pillows on each bed but they measured 12 inches by 12 inches. The bathroom door nearly hit the toilet so only one using a mirror or hair dryer. There were bars to help you get out of the tub/shower but the toilet was extra low. Handicap rooms only have King sized bed...no two Queens.

As for the free breakfast, dry cereal and milk, toaster for bagels and variety of bread, bananas and apples, scramble eggs that were slow on get refilled...people waiting and waiting...sausage and grits. It took forever for my friend to get a cup of decaf coffee. The pot was empty when we got there and I had finished eating when my friend got up to ask again for it....she did get it. It was better than nothing. All in all, it will do for one night.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Manager at Comfort Inn At Carowinds, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced at our hotel.

I have spoken with the breakfast staff and addressed the issues you encountered.

We are currently undergoing a renovation that will be completed in Spring 2015. I do hope that you will come back and visit us after our renovation so that you can experience the NEW COMFORT INN CAROWINDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We may have just arrived at a bad time because most of our complaints would be easy to fix and could have happened very recently No cold drinks in breakfast area. Juice machine out of order and no cold water or pitchers of juice available. One of the waffle makers was out of order and the timer on the other was either set to low or wasn't working properly because waffles were just barely done. Air conditioner/heater in room very noisy. Made it hard to sleep. Probably would not recommend this hotel at this time.

Room Tip: Breakfast okay but not as good as most Choice Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temika, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn At Carowinds, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of the issues that you experienced during your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences these issues may have caused and we would like you to know they all have been addressed and corrected to prevent any future guests from experiencing the same thing. Our renovations will be complete in the Spring of 2015 and we hope that you will come back to see the new and improved Comfort Inn Carowinds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend to have some place close to Scarowinds. At $75 it was a bargain but overall, we should have stayed a little further away. The entire hotel smells like old smoke and the room was not that great. The shower rod had been moved up some after being pulled out of the wall and was sagging, so not matter how hard you tired the shower curtain kept opening and bunching in the middle letting water spray all over the room. I had to stand in the bathroom and hold it up for her while she showered. The bed was lumpy and they insist on giving you those micro pillows that are smaller than throw pillows but they give you like 5 of them. The check in and out was easy enough but the only real reason to stay there is the closeness to Carowinds. This might also be why they don't bother cleaning the place up or refreshing it, knowing that they can always pull occupancy since it is so close.

Room Tip: It doesn't look like any room would be better than another. I would stay on the side facing Car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Manager at Comfort Inn At Carowinds, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you during your stay.

I am excited to inform you that we are starting a major renovation next month. We will be updated our look, and I'm sure that you will be very pleased if you decide to stay again. The renovations should be completed in the Spring 2015.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to give you the service that you hope for and deserve.

Thanks,
Stephanie M
Assist General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, room needs attention. Found a dead roach in hallway...after breakfast. The smell of deodorizer and smoke is overwhelming in hallway. Walked to carowinds. Plenty of parking. Breakfast attendant was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Manager at Comfort Inn At Carowinds, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide feedback on your stay with us. We are starting a major renovation here next month, and I'm sure you will be pleased with the end result. Our renovations will be complete in the Spring of 2015, and I hope that you will stay with us next time you're in the area.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Stephanie M
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duanesburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This is the second hotel we've stayed at in the past two months that uses 12 x 12 pillows for the bed - what is going on?

Aside from not sleeping well because of these tiny pillows, this was a good place for the money. The room was clean, front desk staff friendly and accomodating, and the breakfast was the usual fare.

We were just there for a quick one-night stay, but if we were to go back to the area, I would stay here again (and bring my own pillow).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Manager at Comfort Inn At Carowinds, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us (other than the small pillows). We are beginning our renovation soon, and we will be replacing those smaller pillows with all new pillows. I'm sorry for the convenience, but the issue has been addressed.

Sincerely,
Stephanie McLaughlin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn At Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn At Carowinds

Address: 3725 Avenue Of The Carolinas, Fort Mill, SC 29715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn At Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn At Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Comfort Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Carowinds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn At Carowinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.