We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Fried Green Tomatoes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Local Dish

Local Dish
217 Main Street, Fort Mill, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Fort Mill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Fried Green Tomatoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Second visit here and the food was very good ( again ). We sat at the bar and sampled a couple of appetizers and entrees.

Fried green tomatoe appetizer was excellent and the hummus appetizer was outstanding.

Pot Pie and Salmon specials were both very good.

Nice relaxing environment. Will definitely continue to support this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I've found my favorite local place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I just moved to Fort Mill from Chicago and we have been trying many local restaurants. The food here is simply wonderful. It is a little local place with exceptional food made with fresh ingredients and great care. I was surprised by the creative menu and great service. We will be regulars from now on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We eat here about every other month. I love the pulled pork nachos. You can tell everything is homemade. My only complaint is the table tops. They have a glass piece on top. We have a one year old and cannot have him up against the table because the glass on the side a lot of times is chipped.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

A cute little place in a cute little town. It appears that the owners have successfully incorporated some of the local dishes of Fort Mill into the menu. My husband was born and raised in Fort Mill and left when he was 17. We returned for a visit last week and found a grilled pimiento cheese sandwich on "the Local Dish" menu, just like his Mom used to make for him 65 years ago. The restaurant is small and quaint and located in an old store front on Main St. The service was "small town efficient and friendly." The dishes were made to order and very good. The chicken pot pie was a good choice. Thank you to "The Local Dish" for a nostalgic enjoyable dinning experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great service and good menu featuring local produce and meats. Casual, easy drive from Charlotte. Downtown Fort Mill, SC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Dish also viewed

 

Been to Local Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.