We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About what you would expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds to your Saves list
Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3541 Foothills Way, I-77 at US 21, Exit #90, Fort Mill, SC 29715   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“About what you would expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Positives: Pet friendly at no additional charge, clean inside the room, everything worked, staff friendly.

Negatives: Hallway carpet seems to have never been cleaned. Most of the building needs a little upkeep (paint chipping, peeling around edges). However, the reason I would probably not stay here again as a single woman is because I felt unsafe. When I checked in the attendant told me that I was in the back to make it easier to take the dogs out and that I could just drive around and use the back entrance. It was dark when I was entering my room, and the back the entrance was very dimly lit and a truck driver crept up behind me and scared me (luckily not a bad man). I had my arms full with luggage and 2 dogs, and was a little creeped out so I turned around and went back through the well-lit front entrance. When I had calmed down and was taking the dogs out, I did go out the back door because it was so much more convenient. Upon re-entry, I discovered that the back door wasn't locked. It has a card swiper but you don't actually have to use it. Basically anyone could be coming in at all hours of the night, and since my room was right beside this door I was a nervous nelly. Thankfully I had my dogs, but without them I would probably not have gotten any sleep and would have been up at every little sound. I would be willing to pay an extra $30 or $40 for another hotel next time so that I can sleep without worrying who is coming into the building. I would not recommend for women traveling on their own or with children. (I stayed June 2014)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
5
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncks corner
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had three rooms, (215, 217 & 219) for us, our 2 children & their children. I spoke with the manager from this hotel after I made the reservations as this is a "pet friendly" place and I am a severe asthmatic and have to have a no smoking room, and I am not a pet person as well. The manager set our no smoking rooms on the together on the second floor, as the pet people generally like to be on the first floor. Small towels, no shampoo or hair dryer. Micro fridge is a few bucks extra, but we were so tired from the park all day, all we wanted was a shower and a bed. If you need extra towels like we did, just call the front desk. We will definitely stay here stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Every time we go to carowinds we stay here. Book by calling hotel, cause they put limited rooms online so it may said they are booked but they have rooms saved for walk ins. Rooms are clean. staff is always friendly and helpful. Only bad thing is the bed are harder than I like. Carowinds across the road and near plenty of restaurant. We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was very impressed with this motel 6. The nicest motel 6 I have ever stayed in. Josh at the desk was so friendly and helpful. Excellent experience. Located across from the
amusement park. Rooms are spacious and have a bathtub.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were only in town for the night.needed a place to sleep and shower, weren't looking for a lot of amenities. Had no problem checking in.even got in the room early since it was ready.rooms looked like picture accidentally got a smoking room that bothered me at first but quickly faded. Room was clean except for a stray hair in tub.they had a dog show crowd and ciaa crowd there and yet I still slept great. For the price it was a good deal.even with ciaa traffic we didnt have that much of a hard time getting to uptown Charlotte.check was a breeze.they had a really really good front desk staff and I left the hotel wanting to write a positive review for them

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in town around 1 pm. We hoped to get checked in a bit early after a 12 hr trip. That was not the case. I called and was told 3pm only! Then at 2:45, my reservation, given to someone else. If check-in time is strictly enforced for 3pm and It wasn't! I am still wondering how at, sometime b4 2:45 pm, someone used my name and got my room? Then I was told the carpet was cleaned and the room would not be ready until 3:30 pm. Then after all that, we did not get consistant maid service. During our first two days, the maid would clean the bathroom one day, but not make up the bed. The next day, she would make up the bed, then not clean or change the towels in the bathroom. After waiting 2 1/2 hrs for our room, only to find out someone else, checked in early, using my name and got a room before us, was very frustrating. Lucky for us, Josh and the day Mgr (a young blonde) fixed the names and got us a room with the accomedations we were looking for. Nice location, easy to get to Clt and clean hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd flr is non smoking, reserve room with min fridge n microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

For an off season, one night stay it was fine....for the price. We paid $44 w/ discounts and for that price it was fine. Staff was very nice, room was clean, and it was quiet. We were in town for a sporting event and stayed in the room for maybe 10 hrs total.

If you need a place to sleep cheap it's good enough.

Very easy access to the highway.

Room Tip: It's a motel but multiple stories...2nd/3rd floors are quiet compared to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds

Address: 3541 Foothills Way, I-77 at US 21, Exit #90, Fort Mill, SC 29715
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Motel 6 Fort Mill
Motel Six Fort Mill
Fort Mill Motel 6
Fort Mill Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Charlotte Carowinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.