We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could not have asked for anthing more for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn at Carowinds

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn at Carowinds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Carowinds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Fort Mill
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I could not have asked for anthing more for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I called hotel to get prices. The manager must have overheard and cut in on the call. I'm glad he did. He said since I was wanting to stay 3 nights during mid-week and I was travelling alone, he would be willing to knock off 10 bucks per night. I called other hotels in the immediate area and none even came close to the deal I was being offered at the Sleep Inn. Check in was fine. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I asked about a particular restaurant and the manager mapquested its location and printed it out for me without my asking. He then showed me on the map how to get there without using the busy interstate. Above and beyond. How great is that these days? My room was excellent for the price. Pretty typical decor. Air conditioning was very cold. Plenty of hot water. Beds felt nice and I had no discomfort sleeping. Large shower. Mini-fridge worked great. Had a microwave and coffee maker in the room. I must admit, I didn't use either of them. Worst complaint would be that the large, sliding window was a bit off- kilter. I used some well folded paper to prop it into place correctly and never had a moment's problem with it. I did alert the front desk when I left about this minor detraction. Deluxe continental breakfast was really nice. Waffle maker, juices, cereal and much more. Loved the pastries. Bear claws; yumm! The pool wasn't the largest, however on my last night, I walked down and the manager unlocked the pool area just for me. I had the whole thing to myself. Very relaxing time and I got to practice a swim stroke or two. I'm not a good swimmer so this was good for me and I loved doing it without tons of kids or other watchers. Bought my Carowinds tickets at the front dest at a discount from what you will pay at the gate. I definitely found my inner-child on those rollercoasters. I would like to thank Katrina and Mr. Lakhani for being so instrumental in allowing me to feel like a kid again and making it all so easy and affordable. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
1
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

As soon as I checked in I felt good about my choice. The friendly young blonde girl was super friendly and accommodating with my need to use two different credit cards since one night would be business and the rest personal.

The room was on the 1st floor and I was delighted to find that I could open my window for fresh air. The queen bed was comfortable and clean with an updated cover and the carpet looked in great condition. Had a refrigerator and microwave and a large desk area. I happened to be assigned a handicap room so I had a large bathroom that was very clean. I always wipe down the countertops in a room and when I finished with this room, there was nothing on the rag.

The toilet didn't flush on my first try and I called to ask for repair and that was handled in a timely manner. Throughout my stay the staff was super friendly and helpful. Nice place and right across the street from Carowinds if anybody's going there.

Breakfast was fresh and large variety with a large area of tables.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

They accommodated early arrival. Desk staff were very personal and helpful. Purchased Carowinds coupons at the hotel for a discount.
Stayed for a location close to the Carowinds amusement park. Great Italian restaurant across the HWY next to Comfort. Smoking smelled, non-smoking did not.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, IN
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I don't know where to begin b/c this hotel was awful! I would never recommend it. 1) our room and the entire 4th floor had water damage and smelled moldy (including soggy, smelly, and sticky carpet) and yet they insisted on placing everyone on this floor 2) the bedding smelled of sweat even when supposedly changed 3) we couldn't communicate (housekeepers didn't speak English)and we were met with rude glares from most of the workers for a reason we didn't know 4) one worker barged into the room w/out knocking while I was sleeping at 7:30AM and still to this day I don't know why 4) I was accused of not staying here by a female greeter and that I was just using the pool although I had been there for a week at that point 5) the price is way too much and if you ask for towels or extra hangers you receive a look as if it's the strangest request and they tell you no 6)the one English speaking housekeeper gave me attitude when I was in the room when she wanted to clean, which was difficult to know when b/c it ranged from 10-3 and there's nothing to do around the hotel (Carowinds gets expensive at $40 or so a day)... please don't stay here unless you like harming yourself.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The wireless internet didn't work most of the time.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Ok, First I must say they don't have enough people on staff to help you when you need extra things, towels, coffee, etc...
They have a great continental breakfast, but were terrible at replenishing the items when they ran out. The pool is small, but the place is clean. I have stayed at this hotel about 5 times in the last 3 years and I suppose I didn't go anywhere different because I was use to being there and knew it's location.

Recently I wanted to give my daughter and grandson a present..yes..a trip to Carowinds and was given an awfully hard time about using my credit card to pay for the room. This was due to the fact that I would not be accompaning them on the trip. I was told that I had to fill out an authorization form and fax it back to them. They requested me to put down all my financial information including my entire credit card number and demographic information. I was to fax a copy of my drivers license and my credit card (both front and back as well). I had already booked the room for them online, and my daughter has a drivers license and credit card for identification purposes. All I could think was, "what if someone walks by and picks up my information or my information basically ends up in the wrong hands?. I could mis-dial the number for example. So, I called the Best Western next door and 'walla!" I had their room and all she needed to show was her I.D. I will no longer be staying with Sleep Inn nor will any members of my family. I spoke directly to management and still couldn't get them to allow me to mark out a few numbers on the credit card for safety purposes. The front desk people were very rude and unreasonable when discussing this.

  • Liked — Nice Continental Breakfast
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Carowinds

Address: 3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Carowinds 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Sleep Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn at Carowinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.