We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was clean and quite. No complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn at Carowinds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn at Carowinds to your Saves list
Sleep Inn at Carowinds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Was clean and quite. No complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This property is right next to carowinds. Room was clean , carpet a bit worned but not ragged out. Staff was freindly . Breakfast was of cereals, pastries and waffles. The price was in line with other hotels in the area. Overall it is a pretty nice facility. They could use more help though. as the night desk clerk was also the morning desk clerk and the breakfast guy. He was literally a one man band LOL. but he had it taken care of. We did not see any other staff. while there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
1
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nice clean hotel, very accomodating, Mgr Rudy very helpful

Room Tip: ask for 4th floor, not as noisy as some floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Needed numerous hotel rooms while traveling with the crew on business. After calling and speaking to the manager personally, I knew this would be a fabulous location and access to dining and gas to eat and go. The rooms were clean and spacious with new flat screen TV's. A microwave and refrigerator in every room and a coffee pot. The toiletries provided are standard run of the mill for a sleep in, but it gets the job done. The morning free breakfast was good too, danish, bagels, toast, bread, muffins, make your own waffles, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. What more could you ask for, oh, close and convenient to the highways,

Room Tip: Simply advise whether you wish smoking or non
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

As previous reviews this place is okay but not up to the standard of other of other Sleep Inns.

The hotel is a bit on the tired side. When we were checking out we looked under the bed and it was far from clean. We appeared to be the only people staying on our floor. Breakfast was adequate. Don;t know if they advertise a swimming pool but by the colour of the water it didn't look as though it had been used in ages.

Would probably not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have been at much better Sleep Inns. I usually stay at Sleep Inns quite a bit. Was a bit disappointed in this one. Breakfast was OK. The hotel seemed a bit tired. Front desk staff didn't seem to care much about the guests who had some problems. A bit difficult to access from Interstate if one is traveling south. Must cross several lanes of very heavy traffic to get into left lane before hotel entrance. Cracker Barrel easy walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

My friend and I came to get away from the beach and hit Carowinds. The girl at the desk when we checked in was very hospitable and we came back to this hotel after checking a few others because of how friendly she was. It all went sour when in the middle of the night we started having trouble with our a/c unit in the room. The vibration was similar to a washing machine on the spin cycle. After speaking to the night manager, who was clearly having no problem sleeping, he determined that there was no noise. This was ironic considering he never left the desk. After being woken up for the 4th time by the noise, we went to check the backside of the unit as we were on the 1st floor. This is when we were locked out of the side door. (Which has been broken since our last stay in 2007). The manager was extremely rude and unaccommodating, and after our 3rd time at his desk we were exhausted! Now we will head off to Carowinds with our kids all with very little sleep at the Sleep Inn. If you stay here while on vacation make sure the night manager "Rudy" IS NOT working. Any issues will be ignored and his cavalier, 'not my problem' attitude will have you seeing red!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie,MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is across a 4 lane road to the Carowinds. The road doesn't have crosswalks, but it's possible to cross the road. The rooms are adequete, but do not have mini fridges or microwaves like other hotels have. The breakfast in the morning is the standard hot breakfast of waffles and cold cereal and muffins. The front staff are not going to go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Carowinds

Address: 3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Sleep Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn at Carowinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.