We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great server, fun place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Boy

Taco Boy
15 Center St, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-9763
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food, great server, fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The place was recommended by our kayak tour guide who is a local and we thought it was great. No wait at lunchtime when we went. I had the nachos and an avocado taco - both were awesome! Macie was our server and made great recommendations - I always ask what's the most popular item when I'm at a new place. She was attentive to our needs. When we come back to Folly Beach we will hit this place again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    195
    74
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Came highly recommended but fell short”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Taco Boy came highly recommended but our visit on Tuesday July 1st was not a good one. We came in and was seated almost right away however we were not acknowledged by our server for at least 10 minutes. In her defense, she did have a large party to serve but would have appreciated another server possibly getting our drink order.
Drinks were not good at all. Margaritas were sour and terrible. The trio (salsa, guacamole, cheese dip) appetizer was good but the screaming kids and unattentive service was too much. We paid and left for another restsurant.
Give it a try but beware.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The food was very good. Great tacos and selection. A little pricey. You have to pay for chips and salsa. Prices to be expected for resort area. I do highly recommend Taco Boy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The atmosphere was cool beachy laid back, but the tacos were not that great. I got a steak one and it was tough---to make matters worse they are like $3 a peice and are smaller than taco bells---the frozen screw driver was pretty good though!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Happening place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Taco boy was the first place we stopped to eat in Folly. The place was packed and seemed to be the happening place to be in town. We only had a drink at the bar but the food looked good and the atmosphere was nice there

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Boy also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Taco Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Boy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.