We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos, slow service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Boy

Taco Boy
15 Center St, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-9763
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 29 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tacos, slow service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved our tacos and beer so much that we returned for a second time. I really appreciated the unexpected ingredients and vegetarian options. The hostesses were friendly and helpful. However, the servers were slow and not very attentive. I do not think this is intentional, just that they need more help at peak meal times and better management. Keep up the great job with food prep and menu options!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
HOLA! THank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your food but not happy to hear this about our staff. We are working to address this issue immediately with our managers and staff. We think on this night the manager cut too many servers too early and we apologize.

COme back and lets fiesta again soon and hopefully you will have much better service.

Info@tacoboy.net
843.853.3524
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    234
    88
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The tempura avocado taco on a lettuce wrap was one of the best "tacos" I have ever had. Fun atmosphere, great food and good for kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
HOLA! THank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! COme back and lets fiesta again soon! Ole'!

Info@tacoboy.net
843.853.3524
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great flavor just not enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not your "typical" Mexican place for sure. The variety and freshness of the tacos was impressive. We tried several and liked them all. Fresh guacamole and salsa- very good!! We had app of chips, salsa, guacamole and cheese plus 2-3 tacos a piece. Would have been a great snack but not filling enough for hungry teen boys after a day in the water. Great service! Very quick and attentive waiter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
HOLA! THank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We are very sorry that you left still a little hungry. :( So happy to hear about the staff! COme back and lets fiesta again soon! Ole'!

Info@tacoboy.net
843.853.3524
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy Taco Boy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friends an I ate here two times during our 8 days on Folly. The food was great I had the carnitas and the roasted street corn both were stellar. The others got various tacos and they loved those as well. We tried the cadillac, pineapple a regular margis all were good. The service was great. The chips and salsa were good but very little salsa and still think chips and salsa should be free. We tried the cheese dip and it was so good but again really small. We had a good time there and would go back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
HOLA! THank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! So happy to hear about the staff! Come back and lets fiesta again soon! Ole'!

Heather
Info@tacoboy.net
843.853.3524
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must visit while you're at Folly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We wandered into Taco Boy for lunch one day, and we are so happy that we did! We got the cheese dip appetizer, and it was a little spicy, so some of our party didn't like it, but I was a huge fan. We all tried a different taco, and nobody was disappointed. My favorite was the braised beef -- I'd go back just for that! The beer was cold and smooth! The margarita my sister got was salty to drink, which was strange, but that would be my only complaint!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
HOLA! THank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! Come back and lets fiesta again soon! Ole'!

Heather
Info@tacoboy.net
843.853.3524
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Boy also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Taco Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Boy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.