We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locklears

Locklears
101 E Arctic Ave, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-588-6412
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Locklear's Beach City Grill is a must for those who love amazing views, fabulous seafood, frosty drinks and a great time. Located on the Folly Beach pier, we offer a laid back casual dining experience with daily specials and a full bar.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The ambiance here is like a little hometown diner, and it would be nothing without the pier out the window and on the patio, so I wasn't expecting great things. Our food was AWESOME!!! Two of us enjoyed pasta, one had shrimp and grits, we had a buffalo shrimp, and a barbeque chicken and shrimp dish. We were all really happy with our meals, and our waitress was great! We'll be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    80
    23
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beach Food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Locklear’s

I love this place. Nothing fancy just beach food but reliably good and a great setting for sun-downing or moon rising. If you are looking for a great burger, or fried fish this is as good as I’ve found on Folly Beach and the prices are reasonable. It located right there at Folly Pier, on the beach with easy, if expensive, parking close by. I am giving this four stars not because it is a great restaurant but because it is absolutely superb at what it is.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant had a great view. We sat outside and overlooked the ocean. The wait was not that bad even though we had a large party and it was a holiday weekend. The food was delicious. Some of the best hush puppies I've ever had. Fried okra was like home made and was yummy. Crab legs were very good and the portion was large for the money. Everyone with us enjoyed everything they had. Would for sure return. Only giving this 4 instead of 5 stars because the service was a little slow and the hostesses were a little rude.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“All Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a week at Folly Beach and this was one of the places we decided to eat supper. The place was packed. I just new we would have to wait for ever. Not true. We were told 25 min. and they had a table for us. The waitress got right to our order and the food was right out. All 6 of us were delighted with our food. No one had any complaints. They serve a whole flounder that was great. very good seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was a wonderful location and we enjoyed our Mother's Day breakfast but all our eggs were either undercooked (clear eggwhites) or solidly overcooked. Would recommend it for location, friendliness of staff, but not for the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locklears also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Locklears? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locklears, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.