We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mine was tasty, wife's was tasteless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snapper Jacks

Snapper Jacks
10 Center St, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-633-0174
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 26 restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mine was tasty, wife's was tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

i opted for their beach burger and very much enjoyed it. it came with fries and I washed it all down with a couple of ice cold brewskies. My wife had the fish tacos and thought they were bland and kind of tasteless. they do offer plenty of choices on their menu and have plenty of TV's to watch the big games. The front of the restaurant has windows that open up to create natural air flow. I think my wife and I would go back, even though I'm sure she'd choose something else. Servers were friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    40
    24
    24
    6
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent soup, go early.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We ate at 5:15 before the crowd and it was the correct decision. No wait for a table or for service. We had a bowl of the He Crab Soup to share and it was ample and excellent. For main course, we had the Red Snapper (it was ok, not spectacular) and the wood grilled scallops and oysters. They also brought me the shrimp by mistake, but did not charge. Shrimp and scallops were excellent. Oysters were cold and not very tasty. But 2 out of 3 was pretty good and the overall was quite good. I also had a Hurricane (New Orleans style drink) and it was so good I got up and tipped the bartender. He did a wonderful job on it. And $8 for the drink was not unreasonable given how good. Meal came to $70 for 2 with tax and tip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The bartender is a total tool! If "Slip" is serving at the bar keep walking as he's nothing but insulting and rude to paying customers. Why bother putting tvs up in the bar if they turn the game off so that your forced to leave?? There are much better bars with better service just down the block!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went in with the family not expecting much and had an excellent meal. Solid place to eat with good value. Rooftop looks nice but they are strict about keeping families off of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Joint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really enjoyed this little restaurant/bar. It opened up to the street. The food was good. The bar at the very top of the building was cute and had excellent views and service. If you are looking for a good beach bar restaurant this fits the bill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Jacks also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Snapper Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snapper Jacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.