We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Dog Cafe

Lost Dog Cafe
106 W Huron Ave, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 restaurants in Folly Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Parking was tough and there was a wait, but I understand why - very tasty breakfast! We saved this as a special treat on our last day in town, as we were told by locals it was the best. I had the strawberry French toast and, not sure what kind of bread they use, but it was light, airy and delicious! Also sampled the sausage gravy and biscuits from a friend's plate, which was equally delicious. Definitely check this place out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    373
    128
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A group of us plantation owners rode up the coast to spend a few days in Folly Beach, and before we checked into the Tides, we had lunch at one of the top rated places in town, Lost Dog. It definitely deserves the rating. We sat outside, started with a few drinks from their reasonable selection, and ordered lunch. I had the Tasty Thai Wrap with chicken (photo), which was pretty darn tasty, and my mate had the Southern Style BLT, which was very good, too. The others had one thing or another from the lunch menu, and everyone ended up pretty happy that we chose this place to start our culinary wanderings. The breakfast menu looked very interesting, and breakfast has received some very positive ratings, but instead, we opted to do one breakfast at Black Magic, which turned out to be very disappointing. See my review. Next time up, we'll skip them and come back to Lost Dog, for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You should try it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Enjoyed the She Crab Soup and wasabi coated tuna salad. Great places. Would definitely return. Menu items looked so good... Made you want to try all of them. Was definitely the most popular place in Folly Beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Shrimp and grits, French toast with fresh peaches!! All different types of mimosas.
Get there early!! So worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Biscuits and gravy are amazing! The banana bread French toast is fantastic as well. Great service and atmosphere. I love the pictures of the dogs inside the restaraunt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.