We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super inviting atmosphere with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Dog Cafe

Lost Dog Cafe
106 W Huron Ave, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Super inviting atmosphere with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Eating at Lost Dog was like coming home. Every table was full when we arrived around 2:00 in the afternoon so we knew that was a good sign! The staff was super attentive and helpful, the atmosphere was fun with all of the dog pictures and quotes on the wall, and the food was very good. No wonder the clerk at the gift shop at the pier recommended it to us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    145
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming breakfast/brunch hotspot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

So glad we decided to stop here on our trip to Charleston! The food was excellent, and we really enjoyed eating on the porch! I recommened the Huevos Rancheros! Yummy! Also, loved seeing all the dogs with their owners! Wish we had brought ours, as I noticed there were dog bowls with water everywhere! Such a cute place! Be prepared to wait, as the Lost Dog seems to be a popular spot in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpNorth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Read in the guide books that Lost Dog Cafe was a great breakfast, that's an understatement! We loved the food and atmosphere and the service was great too!. Great food and planning makes this a great place to eat. It's not just the food, but having a drink bar where you can get coffee or a mimosa, etc while you are waiting made the time we waited for a table zip past. Wish we lived closer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made a special trip back before going to the airport to this little café because our first trip the food was so good.

During our stay in Charleston we visited The Lost Dog Café on a Sunday morning. Parking is difficult to find and there was a wait but we lucked out as there was a couple seats at the bar open so we decided to sit there so we did not have to wait for a table. They have both inside and outside seating as well.

My wife had shrimp and crab eggs benedict and I had the French toast. Both were outstanding and the service was good and fast. Drinks are served in Mason jars and they make a great mimosa or screwdriver.

While we watched the food come out from the kitchen we said to each other that we have to make a second trip back because all the food looks so good. So on our way through Charleston heading back to the airport from Savannah we stopped in again for something to eat on Saturday.

This time my wife got the BLT which was fried green tomatoes, bacon, lettuce, and a pimento cheese spread on toast. This sandwich was incredible. We also got and egg and cheese croissant which was prepared perfectly and fresh with a side of sausage and gravy. This may be the best sausage and gravy I ever had. I wish I would have ordered a whole plate of it.

So if you get the change and are lucky for a great lunch place this is the spot. Just a short drive from Charleston to Folly beach and well worth the trip. After eating it is just a short walk over to the beach.

Breakfast is served all day and there are plenty of different options to choose from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've eaten here for breakfast on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The pancakes are to die for, French Toast amazing, and wonderful biscuits and gravy. If you are in a hurry, stop in for some good coffee and a fresh baked muffin to go. The service is always friendly and attentive, and without being 'over' attentive. I can see why they rank as #1 in Folly. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.