We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before I moved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list
Water's Edge Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Carlstadt, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Before I moved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here before moving into my new home in Charleston. It's wonderful. Very comfortable, beautiful view. Staff was helpful and accommodating. I used the hot tub more than once. Breakfast and Happy Hr was great. Will recommend my friends who visit me in Charleston to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. It sounds like you took full advantage of the 24 hour access to our hot tub along with the homemade breakfast in the morning and happy hour in the afternoon, that's wonderful! We always appreciate guests who refer others to us and so be sure those guests you do refer mention your name. They'll get 10% off their first stay and you'll receive 15% off your next one as well. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    52
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
309
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Water's Edge Inn 9/22-9/27 and what a wonderful stay it was! We had the top floor room called the Pacific. Really comfortable with a beautiful view of the inlet! Especially loved my "ocean sounds" at night right on my night table! Loved the whirlpool tub with the rain shower above! The location of the Inn was in a quiet part of Folly Beach which was much appreciated. Rides to the beach in the golf cart were one of the high points of the trip. Gina took us and picked us up, and it felt like we were the only ones she had to cater to!! Everyone working at this lovely Inn was more than happy to help us with anything we needed. We used the hot tub more than once, and it was wonderful. Breakfast and happy hour were great! This Inn was a real find, and we had a great time. Would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Loved the Pacific room. Really quiet on the top floor. However, you have to be able to climb 3 flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review Judy! The Pacific is a wonderful room and definitely offers the best view of the marsh and river. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our many amenities and it sounds like you capitalized on that golf cart shuttle service - good for you! Hope to see you again in the near future. Your 10% return guest discount will be waiting for you, and I don't know if you heard, but if you refer new guests to our inn, they'll receive 10% off their first stay and instead of the standard 10 you get 15% off! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A swimming pool, even a small one, would make this place perfect. The Hot Tub should have been a "next best thing", but it was out of service.The staff were wonderful. Happy hour was okay, could use a Chardonnay in addition to the Pinot Grigio. Breakfast was enough to get your day started.
However, Our room was small, cramped even, so I would not recommend the Mrs. Rhodes room, not even large enough for a chest of drawers in which to put your clothing, so you had to live out of the suitcase or use the somewhat inconveniently located shelves in the closet (with no light). This room is close to the common area so it is convenient, but also noisy in the morning if your goal was to sleep in...this one is not for you. We did get a look at a top floor room and it would have been what we hoped for. Very disappointed as the Rhodes room was recommended by the person taking our reservation, not exactly what we wanted for a 30th anniversary second honeymoon.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms convenient but small with only 1 place to sit and nowhere to put your clothes. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're glad to hear your overall stay was pleasant and you considered the staff wonderful. That's always a great thing to hear. We appreciate your feedback regarding the Miss Rhodes room and I'm sorry it wasn't the room best suited for you. We try and ensure guests receive the best room based on availability and their/your personal preference and so we hope to see you again so that you can enjoy that Pacific room, with all that great space as well as the hot tub which is now back up and running! Be sure to mention that 10% off rate you'll receive next time you book as a return guest. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a villa and the stay was so perfect. Loved the place and the lush, tropical surroundings. Having a private screened porch was ideal. The staff are amazing and sooo helpful. Loved their Happy Hour(s). Can't wait for the next visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so glad to hear you had such an enjoyable visit with us! Our private villas are great for that extra space you might want, especially if you're traveling with a group. I'm also happy to hear you found the staff accommodating and friendly as we all try to be as warm and welcoming as possible to guests visiting our quaint beach town. Hope to see you again soon, maybe for a 1 year anniversary of the start of your retirement trip. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here around Christmas time in 2012. What a beautiful gem! We originally booked a week stay at a house right on Folly, we ended up getting there too late and thought we had no where to stay. We ended up finding this lovely place and they had rooms available for us. We were traveling with our 1 year old Pitbull puppy who is very friendly and well behaved. All they asked was to make sure we picked up after her (of course). The room was BEAUTIFUL! Breakfast in the morning and drinks at night. Music playing all day long to make it feel even more wonderful. In the morning my boyfriend and I spoke to the property manager who we probably could have sat and talked to all day. Very friendly staff and OWNER which is hard to find. There really aren't enough words to describe how wonderful the staff and premises was. We will definitely be staying there again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! We really appreciate your kind words! Hurry back to see us soon and take advantage of our return guest discount of 10% off of every night booked! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we picked this hotel because there was supposed too be a working hot tub outside out hotel room its mentioned all over there website.. of course when we arrive and try too use the hot tub it was broken.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha, I am very sorry to hear that there was a miscommunication regarding our hot tub. We do have a disclosure in our "Upcoming Arrival" email to let all guests know before they get here and to offer other accommodations as a substitute. Our hot tub was unfortunately out of service due to wear and tear from usage and the salt water air. We are in the process of having one custom built for endurance and longevity, which is why it has been a longer process to get it replaced. I would love to speak to you personally regarding this matter as we never want a guest to be disappointed or have a bad experience. Please email me at info@innatfollybeach.com and I will personally get in touch with you. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Kinsey Scroggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a last minute getaway with 5 kids, we decided to do a road trip to Charleston. Where to stay? We were able to get one of the villas and loved it. First off, Carly, Megan and Gena were the best. Besides serving a nice breakfast, they also gave great recommendations for restaurants, activities and things to see in and around Charleston. It was definitely worth the 15 hour drive!

Room Tip: We were in villa #15. One bedroom on first floor with queen bed and full bath. Upstairs, master su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're so glad you and your family made the impromptu trip! Thank you for your kind words! We can't wait to have y'all come back to see us! As a return guest, you will receive a 10% discount off of every night booked! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.