We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list
Water's Edge Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to receive a recommendation for this wonderful B and B on Folly Beach. The staff made a special effort to make my girlfriend and I feel completely at home. The room we had, The Islander, was thoughtfully and creatively decorated. I understand each room has a different theme. I really liked ours. Great happy hour also. This is a must stay on Folly!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the Islander is such a fun and spacious room! We hope you will come visit us again soon and take advantage of our 10% return guest discount! Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    52
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
40
320
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I saw this B&B featured in SouthernnLiving and I knew we couldn't go wrong. It was perfect... Just stepping out of the car upon arrival to hear the beach music in the parking lot put us in a great mood. Yummy breakfasts and happy hour were great! The staff were so friendly and accommodating. We got a big surprise after coming back from dinner one night to find a bottle of champagne for my birthday. What a nice surprise! We were sad when it was time to leave....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind words! We're glad to hear you had a wonderful birthday at Water's Edge Inn. Hurry back and visit us, all return guests enjoy a 10% discount! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night as a little getaway treat. I wish we could have stayed longer! The room was very clean and creatively decorated. The bed was also very comfortable and the room was quiet. It is only about 2 blocks from the beach. When we arrived, we borrowed bikes from the inn and rode them down to the beach. It was so fun and so easy! They also have happy hour from 4-7, offering beer, wine and a rum punch. Such a nice way to start your stay there. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They also serve breakfast- very tasty! This is the best place to stay. When I come back to visit charleston, we are definitely staying there again! Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Islander room and it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend had such a fantastic time! Here at Water's Edge Inn we strive for nothing but the best and enjoy our guests as much as they enjoy staying with us! We can't wait to have you guys come back to visit, maybe next time for a longer get-away!! All of our return guests enjoy a 10% discount off every night booked with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am now trying to work out when I can go back, this was a highlight of our trip. The welcome was fantastic, our bedroom luxurious and better than 5 star hotels we have stayed in. I hesitate to reccomend it too much as everyone will go but it was peaceful and private a lovely place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Please hurry back!! Thank you for your kind words!! Don't forget when you come back to stay with us you get to take advantage of our 10 % return guest discount!!! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at waters edge for my bfs last coming home before deployment... What an amazing experience! Happy hour was an added bonus to the wonderful staff, clean and spacious rooms, and location was great for walking to folly beach returaunts and bars! Will def stay there again!!!! Also a nice surprise our last night the had a bottle of champaign iced and glasses for the occasion! Loved waters edge!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so happy that you guys chose us to spend your special get-away with! We appreciate and have the upmost respect for all of our men and women in the military! We hope that once deployment is over you guys will come back to stay with us, don't forget all return guests get a 10% discount! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here because as an extended family of 6 ranging in age from 22 to 89 we could not afford 3 rooms in an upscale hotel in Charleston for our two day visit. We discovered that we were able to get to downtown Charleston in less than 15 minutes & to the plantations in just 1/2 hour. We were so pleasantly surprised that the villa we stayed in was not only beautifully decorated with three ensuite bedrooms with a lovely living/kitchen area & two screened in porches on the quite side of Folly Beach, but such a short walk to the downtown area of restaurants & beach. The villa was truly immaculate and we felt immediately comfortable & pampered. My mother, who is 89, is very fussy about accommodations & she found Water's Edge to be perfect for her!
We walked over to the B&B for a great breakfast each morning and a lovely afternoon snack with wine & southern hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am so happy to hear that your stay with us went exactly as you had hoped. Thank you for the kind words you have shared! We would love to have you and your family come back to stay with us and enjoy our 10 % return guest discount! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dear Paul,

What a delightful two days at your Inn!! Exceptional accommodations, lovely screened porch, but most importantly your associates are phenomenal! What a great group of employees. We met Ashley, Jena and Kelly. All delightful and ready to provide anything we needed.
What a great job you have done! Congratulations!

Room Tip: Ms. Rhodes or The Floridian both have great screened porches overlooking the marsh area! Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you Nancy, the girls here enjoyed you guys as much as you enjoyed them. We strive to meet that personal touch to make all of our guests feel like they are at a home away from home. We so are so happy that your birthday was such a delight. I will pass your kind words along to the associates!! Hurry back and take advantage of our 10% return guest discount. The weather sure does make it tempting to get out on the sunny beaches of Folly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.