We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Save Saved
You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Beautiful rooms in a quiet and romantic setting. Comfortable design, large bathrooms, good breakfast and super friendly and attentive staff. Our only regret was staying one night! Will definitely stay here again our next time in Folly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
All repeat guests get a 10% discount on future bookings. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    51
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
36
304
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went on a trip through low country for my husband's birthday and this was by far our favorite place we stayed. Our room was beautiful. The staff was fantastic. When they found out it was his birthday, they sent a bottle of champagne up to the room. We LOVED the beach cruiser bikes they provided and biked to the beach every day. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy you chose Water's Edge Inn and enjoyed the bikes and champagne. Return guests get 10% off. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have come to the Water's Edge Inn every year since 2008 and we fell in love with the place our first year. Since that time, we've felt that the quality has decreased slightly each year and the prices have increased. Being from Charleston, we had toyed with not going to the Water's Edge this year and spending our money elsewhere, but because of tradition, we booked a room. I am happy that we did, becuase we enjoyed our stay so much -- staff were pleasant, the happy hour was great, and the breakfast was good -- although I think the quality could improve if it's going to continue to be marketed as a "B & B". Our room was clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Thanks for a great stay -- we will be back next year!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Happy Anniversary!! Thank you for staying with us for your special occasion. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your repeat business. Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay, happy hour and breakfast. If you have any special requests for your your next stay, please e-mail: info@innatfollybeach.com or call 843-588-9800 prior to your arrival. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a beautiful place, very nice theme and ambiance, warm courteous staff, and an ideal location. This is a hard review to write for me since my guest and I differ on our opinion. I thought it was nice as a hotel, but did not fit my numerous experiences of a Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Caribbean room and I found it difficult to sleep at night having to listening to the guests in the attic above us using their bathroom and hearing them pee, flush, walk, and converse as if they were right in our room all night long. Apparently I'm not the only one who has experienced this since, there was a white noise system in our room playing ocean waves all the time. My guest however did not notice this since she is a sound sleeper unlike me. We both found the balcony, beautiful decor, grounds, and scenery very nice and well thought out. It's obvious that the management has worked hard at trying to make this a good experience for their guests. It would have been a perfect 3 day stay had the top floor (attic) not been used. Surprisingly I would still return and enjoy this wonderful Inn. I would; however, come equipped with a set of earplugs for my own sleeping comfort. I especially enjoyed listening to Jimmy Buffet when we opened our balcony door. Also thought the 4:00 punch to be a really nice touch and very fitting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was nice to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The ocean sound in the room comes off the clock radio and can be turned off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from three night stay and overall it was pleasant -- the young ladies staffing the Inn were very nice, but we would label it more of a small hotel than a B and B. Breakfast was pretty much microwaved frozen food, not real tasty. Rooms were nice and the location is convenient to both Charleston and the beach. All in all, a nice place with nice people, but if you are looking for a true B and B experience be sure and check out others in the Charleston area.

Room Tip: If staying during peak season, would probably avoid the Florida room -- right next to the outdoor ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We recently upgraded our breakfast selections. Everything is fresh and made at the Inn. Our menu changes daily. We hope you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the Florida Room. Don't believe any review that states this is the best place in Charleston. Folly yes, Charleston, no. Try the French Quarter for starters. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was large enough and nicely decorated. If you are not a fan of Jimmy Buffett you should look elsewhere. Sirius Jimmy plays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Inside, outside, you name it, you sing it. Breakfasts are OK. Casseroles, biscuits, sweet rolls, meats, fruit, yogurt, etc. Cereal selection is geared to kids. If you stay in the Florida room, know that the hot tub is right under your porch. It was quiet while we were there but, could certainly be a party spot. The towel bar fell off the wall in the bathroom during our stay. The clock in the clock radio wasn't working so you couldn't see what time it was at night. As for the pillows...bring your own, they're bad. I wouldn't call it a B&B as much as a small hotel. Relatively expensive.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Florida room, know that the hot tub is right under your porch. It was quiet while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am personally reviewing your concerns. Thank you for bringing the issues to me during your stay and allowing us the opportunity to address while you were our guests. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. She is lovely and tell her hello. In response to the cereal, we were notified not to serve specific cereal by our supplier until further notice. We did replace our normal brands with secondary options, granola and oatmeal. Our hot tub is for guest use only and 99% of our guests are couples looking for a romantic hideway and not a group looking to start a party scene at the Inn or in the hot tub. You may find the villas to be more your style if you chose to come back with a group up to six guests. Please feel free to contact to us in regards to booking a villa. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Greeted by courteous staff and a Folly Beach drink, perfect way to start our honeymoon! The beds were heavenly, we recommend getting a room with a screened porch to taken in the views and catch the breeze. Clean, decent food, the staff went above and beyond! You can not go wrong staying here! We will return.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Hemingway, which is perfect for a single or a couple (unless you are both 6 ft tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Water's Edge Inn for your honeymoon. It was nice to meet both of you. Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.