We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect and every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Save Saved
You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect and every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Greeted by courteous staff and a Folly Beach drink, perfect way to start our honeymoon! The beds were heavenly, we recommend getting a room with a screened porch to taken in the views and catch the breeze. Clean, decent food, the staff went above and beyond! You can not go wrong staying here! We will return.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Hemingway, which is perfect for a single or a couple (unless you are both 6 ft tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Water's Edge Inn for your honeymoon. It was nice to meet both of you. Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    50
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
35
302
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place! From the Folly Beach Punch to the great breakfasts and genteel CHappy Hour this place was spectacular. Wonderful staff well appointed rooms and a first class friendly operation. We will be back and so will our friends! Havent stopped talking about how great the palce was!

Room Tip: Stay in a Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the review and for staying with us. Your comments really help us gain more business. Thank you for telling the world and your friends about us. We just moved up with our placing on Tripadvisor. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A very nice condominium type complex with 6-7 rooms – most with screened porches. Fair breakfast – the punch at night was fantastic and a wonderful treat. Like a hurricane but with less punch. Breakfast area was small and cramped so we ate on the porch each day – may be that is the general idea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the villa and your stay and we look forward to your future visit. Usually our guests dine in waves, the early risers and the guests that sleep in. Our dining area is made up of more than the (4 table) lobby space. It is extended to the (2 table) patio area adjacent to the lobby, and the (3 table) outside area under the umbrellas. Some guest dine on their patios and others take their breakfast back to the villa where they have (2 or 3) barstools with counter space and a (4 chair) dining room table. Breakfast is served from 8 until 10 am daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff and setting could not have been more relaxing for my college room mate and I to have a short "girl's getaway"! The beautiful scenery, relaxed setting, warm welcome and short walk to Folly restaurants and the beach made it simply perfect!

Room Tip: Pack light if you are in the upstairs rooms, otherwise delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
It was nice to meet you ladies. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've stayed at the Water's Edge Inn many times, and each time has been awesome! This time, we stayed in a villa next door since there were three couples. The villa was beautiful, and we had plenty of space to relax. The owner and the girls at the front desk are so nice, and they're always willing to take us to the beach on the golf cart, make reservations, or answer any questions we have. We went to several restaurants during Restaurant Week, visited Middleton Plantation, went kayaking on Folly Creek, and took a Sunset Sailing cruise. Thank you to all the people at Water's Edge Inn for another fantastic trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
So glad you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again in March. We really enjoyed having you during happy hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Husband and I enjoyed the inn and will be back. Check in was easy, gracious, met with southern charm, loved the service and drinks/reception. Would recommend to couples and familys. Easy and short walk to beach, and nice bikes. Restaurants and shopping very close.

Room Tip: our room on bottom/corner was private and close to our vehicle, also easy access to hammock and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We were not sure what to expect but ended up loving every minute of our stay. The girls at the front desk were extremely helpful with answering questions and recommending places to eat. We purchased the Adventure package and chose the Sunset Cruise with Randy and Jet Ski rentals on the ocean. It was so much fun and we would definitly recommend the package to anyone looking for a good time. We stayed in the Caribbean and enjoyed a full screened in porch and a great bathroom with a giant jetted tub. It was quiet and very romantic. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
This is the perfect package for fun in the sun. So glad it was right up your alley. We are happy you chose to stay at Water's Edge Inn and you enjoyed your getaway. Thank you for sharing this great review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.