We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Folly Beach Crab Shack

Folly Beach Crab Shack
26 Center Street, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843 588-3080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Me and my husband went here one night on our honeymoon. It was a recommendation of a friend and I'm glad we listened. The food was great and we went early and got right in. The scallops that came with my husbands meal were huge and very yummy and my crap cakes were wonderful!! The only down fall was parking in the area but that was the case with any where you eat at Folly. Also, we went early (around 5:30) and got right in but went the day before around 6:30 or 7 and it was a 45 minute wait for 2 people. So just be ready to wait or go early. It's worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Please let me know when you are visiting Folly again. Sincerely, Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    143
    63
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folly Beach, Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely try the She Crab soup.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I try She Crab shop everywhere I go that's has it. So far, Folly Beach Crab Shack and Fleet Landing downtown are at the top of my list. The rest of their food is good too. Oh, and they have Butternut Chardonnay by the glass.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are very proud of our she crab soup. Thanks for letting us know about your experience. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Fun atmosphere. Group of four and we all enjoyed the food we ordered. We sat outside facing the street and enjoyed people watching during our meal. It was a busy night but server was efficient and professional

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for your review, we always want to know about how our guests experiences are. We hope to serve you again on your next visit. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love seafood but my wife not so much. I had a steamer basket with clams, mussels, and oysters. It was absolutely delicious. My wife who despises seafood had a bbq sandwich and said it was very good. We sat with Jonathan who took great care of us. Will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed everything so much. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lotsa crab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had drinks(strong and tasty) and crab salads for lunch. Best crab salad EVER. Piled high on a bed of lettuce. Salted peanuts passed the time till the food arrived.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words. I will pass them along to all our team members and we hope to see you again soon! Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Folly Beach Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.