We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much needed get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Folly Beach Crab Shack

Folly Beach Crab Shack
26 Center Street, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843 588-3080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“much needed get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were going to treat ourselves to crab legs and just so happened we stumbled into the chefs favorite that night and the deals were irresistible. We left STUFFED

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed everything! The Crab Feast is always a winner:) Crab Three different ways. We hope to see you again on your next visit! Please let us know when you are visiting again. We don't always have that special going on, but would be more than happy to serve it for you. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    142
    63
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thursday night entertainment is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Oysters and crab legs were great. Cocktail sauce was the best I've ever had. Brownie sundae to die for! The live entertainment (bluegrass society) was the icing on the cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! I will pass along your review with my amazing team members. They are the one's that make the dream happen everyday! The Bluegrass society band always bring a fun family time every Thursday night. We hope yo be able to see you again on your next visit to Folly Beach. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went for crab legs, fell in love with key lime pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Pricing was a little high for the amt of legs we got, but the set up was ingenious. The bucket in the ctr of the table & plenty of napkins is key! Ordered the pie to go because we were full. Feel in love with the pie!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for letting me know about your visit. We always strive to offer both value as well as quality seafood. As you can tell from shopping, everything has gone up in price. I would like to talk with you personally to make sure you are more than satisfied on your next visit. 843-437-2546. Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations, Sincerely, Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun and good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I looked up restaurants on google and it said this was one of the best. We were staying at the Tides hotel so it wasn't but a few blocks from there. It was really good. I had shrimp and scallops and they were cooked just right. My husband had the whole flounder and it was huge but it must have been good because all I saw was bones when he finished. Really fun atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you!! Our mission is simple. Build relationships & Exceed expectations in a fun relaxed atmosphere. So glad that ya'll enjoyed the seafood and we hope to be able to serve you and your husband on your next visit. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenni, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great $10 specials/ awesome Crabby Mary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stopped in Folly Beach's Crab Shack, and had a great lunch. I was very impressed with their Crabby Mary, which came with a Snow Crab leg as a garnish! Their Mahi Mahi basket was one of their lunch specials, and was very good. Jack had a Palmetto lager and their Calabash basket. Beachy atmosphere, good food, and a nice beer selection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! The Crabby Mary was our way of taking a classic Bloody Mary and giving it a Crab Shack twist. Crab legs & Bloody Mary's are amazing together. So glad that you were able to enjoy our two for 20.14 deal, we do that every January to show our appreciation for our loyal guests! Thanks again & we hope to see you again soon! Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Folly Beach Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.