We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's Pizza

Woody's Pizza
39 Center St, Folly Beach, SC 29439
(843) 588-0088
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Yummy pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family split up for the evening, so half of us wanted to eat at the restaurant and the other half wanted take-out. On the recommendation of the rental house employee, we went to Woody's. The inside was somewhat smoky, so we chose to sit outside. Our waitress was attentive, but not in-your-face. We told her we wanted to order two pizzas, one to eat and one to take. She explained that their take-out was not a priority so she would put both orders in for the table, and then bring us a box. Since I'd read other reviews that complained about their take-out, I fully understood, and this was a great solution to our situation.

The pizza itself was very good. The crust was brick-oven crisp and chewy, just the way I like it. We got very basic pizzas (ham and green pepper on one, cheese on the other) and enjoyed them very much. The specialty pizzas we saw on other people's tables looked great, too.

If the inside seating was smoke-free, I'd give it five stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    67
    30
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“a great "Plan B"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tried to get into the Crab Shack at the same time as everyone else on Folly so Woody's was a "Plan B". I'm from western New York state and my nose told me immediately upon entering that Woody's would not disappoint. Great service, good value, and delish pizza. We sampled a basil pizza, a meat lovers (I forgot to tell them to leave off ground beef as that never belongs on a pizza, and a veggie. Watched it rain as we dined on the picnic tables on the covered porch. Of course, everything always tastes better in those conditions - like when you're camping!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't do take out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We ordered pizza tonight for take out. We sat and had a beer while we waited for our order. I asked a question about Woody's to the waitress who was rather rude. The question pertained to how Woody's began in Folly Beach. Then we noticed that a couple who came in after us and ordered a pizza were enjoying their pizza and asked how much longer. The waitress was rude and stated that since we were take out, we were not a priority. Even though we were enjoying now 2 beers each, we were not a priority. It took 2 hours to get our pizza!!! No fabrication at all!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza but order early...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Woody's is a great place to grab a pizza and it is very, very good but you may wait up to two hours when placing an order, but it is worth the wait... it is not really bad service as you would guess but their pizza oven is small and they can only cook so fast but quality is much better than quantity. Order early and enjoy...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza and Salad - Portions Huge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We each had a salad which was huge- romaine lettuce and peppers, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes and mozzarella cheese. We ordered an 18 inch pizza and took home half of it as it is so much food. The sauce on the pizza can't be canned because it was so fresh and flavorful. We do a beach vacation yearly and this is the best pizza we have had in 15 years! The service was great and the live band playing while we ate was nice. It was packed on Saturday but easy to find a table on Monday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Pizza also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Woody's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.