We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecclectic menu, very original ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Magic Cafe

Black Magic Cafe
103 W. Erie, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-633-0025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ecclectic menu, very original ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

very good for tourist beach restaurant...a little out of the way unless you are at or near Folly Beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    39
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yes to COFFEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I didn't go in, and didn't buy so I can't rate interior or pricing, but I can tell you the cup of coffee that my mom grabbed for me was DELICIOUS!! I told her I needed a dark roast with cream. Perfection!! I actually went back on our way out of town to see if I could buy a bag of coffee - they closed before I got there. Bummer. But will definitely got back next visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great breakfast, crab cake eggs Benedict. Great service, wonderful setting, delicious food. We had been here two years ago, and it grew to a wonderful full service restaurant. Sit in the outside patio under the sailcloth awning with the sun filtering through, so nice. The menu is delicious with lots of very creative items. Open just for breakfast and dinner. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great coffee! Nice breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a friendly little place in Folly Beach. We ate breakfast there twice and ordered smoothies to go once. The smoothies were really good. We sampled the Hurricane Hugo, an Edge of America and a Coffin Island. All were awesome but the favorite was the Hurricane Hugo. It tasted like a fresh mango. At $5 each, they seemed expensive but was it very filling and suitable for a meal on the go.

We really liked the coffee as well which might seem like a minor detail but, if you like a stronger cup of coffee, you'll know what I mean.

The pancakes with the pecan-cinnamon butter and bourbon syrup were some of the best we ever had. The eggs were served with a seasoning sprinkled on them. You can easily ask them to leave the seasoning off.

This is a nice stop for breakfast if you're in Folly Beach!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate at this place for brunch/lunch. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was ok. Everything was clean, from the outside the place looked a little abandoned and run down. I got the shrimp tacos with pasta salad which was good and he got the folly cristo, he said it was good and really big. I also loved that this restaurant offered soy milk with their coffees. I plane on getting coffee here every morning cheaper then starbucks but taste the same.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Magic Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Magic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Magic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.